Home » Jazz Articles » Mareike Wiening: Metropolis Paradise


Album Review

Mareike Wiening: Metropolis Paradise


Sign in to view read count
Mareike Wiening: Metropolis Paradise
Composer-drummer Mareike Wiening's album, Metropolis Paradise, is a homage to her six-year residency in New York. And what a special time it must have been—judging from the music—a warm, sunny collection of shimmering and breezy beauty. Wiening wrote all the compositions, and they reflect what might be a perfect day sitting in Central Park under a warm sun, watching the butterflies scatter through the flowers.

Wiening's ensemble is very tight, but this does not mean rigid. Instead, it means they play in total sync with one another. Upbeats and downbeats are precise. And this synchronicity helps bring to life Wiening's visions of the city she clearly loves.

Each of the band members contributes to the straight-ahead tuneful numbers. Dan Tepfer's piano lines are gentle and expressive, his touch light but not without substance. Rich Perry's tenor sax is full-throated and his legato notes are joyful, like someone's bright smile. Alex Goodman plays guitar without electronic embellishment and his playing possesses a lyrical quality. Johannes Felscher's round and idyllic bass notes offer superb counterpoint that fleshes out the bottom of the tunes.

Of course, Wiening's efforts are as effervescent as those of her bandmates. Her brush work (for example on "Relations") and her rhythmic ornamentation add color to the musical phrases. On "Misconception," she plays a bit more aggressively, using an accentuated off-rhythm beat which contrasts perfectly with Tepfer's cool playing and Goodman's solo stretches. And on her ballads "Metropolis Paradise" and "Free At Last," as well as the waltzy "For A Good Day," her playing glides smoothly between subtle and emphatic.

This debut effort certainly suggests big things are ahead for Wiening. Those looking for straight-ahead tuneful music will do no better.

Track Listing

Free Time; 2 in 1; For A Good Day; Misconception; Viewpoints; Relations; Metropolis Paradise; Free At Last.


Mareike Wiening: drums; Rich Perry: tenor saxophone; Dan Tepfer: piano; Alex Goodman: guitar; Johannes Felscher: double bass.

Album information

Title: Metropolis Paradise | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Greenleaf Music

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.




Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.