Home » Music » Song of the Day


Mississippi 1955 Confessional by Benjamin Boone

From the album

Album Title: Caught in the Rhythm
Label: Origin Records
Released: 2023


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

For a decade now, saxophonist, composer, and Fulbright scholar Benjamin Boone has artfully merged the works of vital, contemporary poets with the in-the-moment creations of astute, innovative jazz musicians, first through his two critically acclaimed recordings with U.S. poet laureate Philip Levine, and most recently with 2020’s 'The Poets Are Gathering,' providing a striking platform for the spoken word. The dance of imagery and rumination set in motion by Patrick Sylvain's "Caught in the Rhythm" supplies a running theme for this exploding kaleidoscope of diverse voices, with Ambrose Akinmusire, Greg Osby, Kenny Werner and Ben Monder being a few of the interacting musical voices, offering an aural front page of dispatches, reveries, declamations, and narratives from past and present. Leave it to music, melding with shadow and light, to make the case for poetry. That’s what this album—and its varied supplications to the muse—are for. "...important poetic works in the context of sound and emotive playing. There is no line of demarcation, only artistic unity afloat in a solution of truth." - All About Jazz

Song Listing

Mississippi 1955 Confessional (T.R. Hummer); HoodWitches [Redux] (Faylita Hicks); Caught in the Rhythm (Patrick Sylvain, feat. Ambrose Akinmusire); Art Pepper (Edward Hirsch, feat. Greg Osby); We Bring the Soul to It (Faylita Hicks); Poem 836 / The Diviner (Kimiko Hahn); The Case Against Poetry (Edward Hirsch); Anger Management (T.R. Hummer); ASMR Sleepcast: The Night After Being Released from the Rural County Jail (Faylita Hicks); Olivia Suggests All the Women in Class Imagine Male Sexuality (Kimiko Hahn); Mercy (Tyehimba Jess); Dawg, What the Fuck Ima Do With a $20? (Faylita Hicks); You'll Be Sorry (T.R. Hummer)


Benjamin Boone
Kimiko Hahn
poet / spoken word
Faylita Hicks
poet / spoken word
Edward Hirsch
poet / spoken word
T. R. Hummer
poet / spoken word
Tyehimba Jess
poet / spoken word
Patrick Sylvain
poet / spoken word
Greg Osby
Ben Monder
Eyal Maoz
Philip Sarkisian
bass, electric

Additional Personnel

Mckenna Reeve: drums; Jonovan Cooper: tenor saxophone; Max Hembd: trumpet; Francisco Torres: trombone; Stefan Poetzsch: violin; Rodrigo Dalla: congas & triangle

Date featured

September 7, 2023

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Song of the Day

Dekel Epstein
Ross Pederson
Joe Alterman


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.