Home » Jazz Articles » Marco Sanguinetti: Inmoral


Album Review

Marco Sanguinetti: Inmoral


Sign in to view read count
Marco Sanguinetti: Inmoral
Born, raised and still residing in Argentina, pianist-composer Marco Sanguinetti writes jewel-fine, poetic miniatures which bring back a time and place when individual voices of all talents were the wealth and treasure of any civilized society. Quite unlike, without getting too far afield, the mob-speak we're choked with today.

The dozen tracks that tell the story of Inmoral, Sanguinetti's seventh, is a mother lode of these shining miniatures. Like haiku, they last. And, as with haiku throughout the ages and continents, every re-read (or re-listen) reveals anew, conjuring and recalling quiet, fleeting moments when everything harmonizes and the world doesn't seem so dark.

There's an almost Philip Glass-like insistence to Sanguinetti's music, but it is far less claustrophobic and earth-bound. "Pulsar" keeps coming at you like the tides, gently lulling, crashing, lulling. . . For "Aquí y ahora" the same can be said, but the crashes are gone, replaced by a light and airy pop touch to the song's compelling climb and electronic swirl release.

"Primavera 0" has the whole quintet—cellist Violeta García, bassist Ezequiel Dutil, drummer Tomas Babjaczuk—in full drive. "Sudestada" is a sustained pull between muscle and melody. "Puente" opens lushly, with lilts and hints of John Lennon's memorial "Julia" in full view, until Sanguinetti and company follow the pianist's true romantic heart. It is a wonderful track to listen to and get lost in, especially given the quintet's precision, drone strike at the 1:47 mark, lasting barely one minute, but holding your attention then bringing you back to that romanticism you swear couldn't withstand a barrage like that.

There are plenty of reasons why Sanguinetti was awarded Best Musician, Best Pianist and Best Composer of 2017 by the Argentinean press, but the main one—as evidenced by the fact that Inmoral's longest track barely brushes the five and half minute mark—is the pianist's structured, yet effortless economy. There is something to be said for all the music that paints Inmoral. So give it a listen. You owe yourself the time to step back and listen to an artist tell you what's on their mind.

Track Listing

1. Pulsar (5:27) 2. Aquí y ahora (3:50) 3. Primavera 0 (3:34) 4. Sudestada (5:19) 5. Puente (5:06) 6. Té para tres (3:03) 7. Especie (3:04) 8. Alma (4:16) 9. Lisa (3:35) 10. Canción animal (4:20) 11. Otra piel (4:35) 12. Paseo inmoral (4:35)


Marco Sanguinetti: piano Violeta García: cello Migma: turntable Ezequiel Dutil: electric and double bass Tomás Babjaczuk: drums

Album information

Title: Inmoral | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Twitin Records

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Conversation Starter
Willie Morris
Melodies of Light
Omri Mor / Yosef-Gutman Levitt
The Quietly Clouds And A Wild Crane
Yuji Takahashi / Sabu Toyozumi


Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio
Afro Futuristic Dreams
Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids
Dynamic Maximum Tension
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society

On the record

Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Jonathan Karrant
Brazilian Match
Luiz Millan
Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.