Ellen Andersson Quartet: I'll Be Seeing You

Chris Mosey By

Sign in to view read count
Swedish vocalist Ellen Andersson sings in a strangely forced way, trying to imitate Billie Holiday but sounding more like someone in dire need of a laxative.

This is most apparent on "You've Changed," which Holiday recorded on her 1958 Columbia album Lady In Satin when past her prime.

In 2013 another Swedish singer, Isabella Lundgren refashioned history, singing the song as Lady Day might have done when young, on another Prophone album, Ela, by guitarist Anders Färdal and harmonica player Luciano Mosetti. Lundgren's version knocks Andersson's stiff, self-conscious interpretation into a cocked hat, despite heroic efforts by guest trumpeter Peter Asplund and bassist Hannes Jonsson to rescue the number.

"Gloomy Sunday," another number associated with Lady Day, while equally painful on occasion shows an adventurous spirit and features an interesting solo by another guest, Danish alto saxophonist Oilly Wallace.

He is featured too on "I Cried For You," otherwise notable for Andersson's bizarre phrasing.

But it's her first album so let's not be too harsh on the poor girl. She has a good voice and shows considerable ability on her wordless forays, where she no longer attempts to sound like Lady Day and is relieved too of the responsibility of reinterpreting lyrics from the Great American Songbook, which have all been sung countless times before.

Her work with Asplund on Charlie Parker's "Au Privave" sees her at her most relaxed and confident and she also goes in for some admirably adventurous scatting on the title track, "I'll Be Seeing You."

Of the members of her quartet, guitarist Anton Forsberg displays considerable ability, notably on Charlie Chaplin's "Smile."

Track Listing: S’Wonderful; You’ve Changed; A Day In The Life Of A Fool; Au Privave; I’ll Be Seeing You; Gloomy Sunday; Everything I Love; Smile; I Cried For You.

Personnel: Ellen Andersson: vocals; Peter Asplund: trumpet; Oilly Wallace: saxophone; Anton Forsberg: guitar; Hannes Jonsson: bass; Sebastian Brydniak: drums.

Title: I'll Be Seeing You | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Prophone Records


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read Aqustico vol 2 CD/LP/Track Review Aqustico vol 2
by Geno Thackara
Published: September 25, 2017
Read Lattice CD/LP/Track Review Lattice
by Mark Corroto
Published: September 25, 2017
Read Beginnings CD/LP/Track Review Beginnings
by David A. Orthmann
Published: September 25, 2017
Read Synchronic CD/LP/Track Review Synchronic
by Roger Farbey
Published: September 25, 2017
Read Slægt CD/LP/Track Review Slægt
by Jakob Baekgaard
Published: September 24, 2017
Read An Eye on the Future CD/LP/Track Review An Eye on the Future
by Jack Bowers
Published: September 24, 2017
Read "Crossing" CD/LP/Track Review Crossing
by Geno Thackara
Published: June 25, 2017
Read "The Eleventet - Please Call" CD/LP/Track Review The Eleventet - Please Call
by Victor L. Schermer
Published: February 4, 2017
Read "A Cry For Peace" CD/LP/Track Review A Cry For Peace
by Geannine Reid
Published: October 24, 2016
Read "Strunkin'" CD/LP/Track Review Strunkin'
by Jerome Wilson
Published: November 18, 2016
Read "Genesis, Mystery And Magic" CD/LP/Track Review Genesis, Mystery And Magic
by Mark Sullivan
Published: July 6, 2017
Read "3's a Crowd" CD/LP/Track Review 3's a Crowd
by Troy Dostert
Published: April 21, 2017

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.