Yaniv Taubenhouse Trio: Here from There

Budd Kopman BY

Sign in to view read count
Yaniv Taubenhouse Trio: Here from There
Here From There announces a major new mainstream talent, the Yaniv Taubenhouse Trio, led by pianist Yaniv Taubenhouse, from the perspective of both his performance and composition.

The album was recorded during Taubenhouse's stay at Fayetteville, Arkansas in the University of Arkansas piano performance program. Since arriving there in 2010, the current trio which includes drummer Darren Novotny and bassist Garrett Jones, had rehearsed and played for a year before recording this album.

While his personal charisma cannot be vouched for, Taubenhouse's musical charisma is evident from the first notes of the solo piece, "Prelude of the Ozarks." His compositions and arrangements unfold slowly, but always carry the ear along.

The album is of a piece because Taubenhouse's musical personality and vision is so strong. His music has an intensity which comes from this purity of vision, but which, however, is balanced and underpinned by an emotional optimism that is very appealing.

Taubenhouse swings very easily and relentlessly, and seems to know inherently how to build tension and then release it, allowing the tracks to be on the long side, while never having any feeling of aural fatigue.

While the original compositions are very appealing, at least part of the test for a young player is how a standard is treated. The up-tempo "Tenderly" gets one moving immediately, but it is the big arrangement of "Time After Time" that really impresses.

Here From There has the feel of a recorded live set, and while listening, it is very easy to see the Yaniv Taubenhouse trio on stage with the audience hanging on every note.

There is no doubt that much more will be heard from Taubenhouse and he continues to grow, mature and explore his expanding musical world.

Track Listing

Prelude of the Ozarks; Coming Back; Here from There; Joey Boy; Sunrise Fantasy; Time and Place; Tenderly; Uncle Robert; Train to a Green Mountain; Time After Time; Hope.


Yaniv Taubenhouse: piano; Garrett Jones: bass; Darren Novotny: drums.

Album information

Title: Here from There | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Fresh Sound New Talent

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Borderlands Trio: Stephan Crump / Kris Davis /...
Kinds of Love
Renee Rosnes
Lockdown 2020
The Biscodini Organ Trio
In Our Time
Victor Gould
Someday, Something
Rebecca DuMaine
Pedro Melo Alves
Human Rites Trio
Jason Kao Hwang
Matthew Shipp / William Parker


Terence Blanchard featuring The E-Collective
The Garden
Rachel Eckroth
Time Frames
Michael Waldrop

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.