Home » Jazz Articles » The Young Immigrants: Head Borders

Album Review

The Young Immigrants: Head Borders


Sign in to view read count
The Young Immigrants: Head Borders
The Young Immigrants is a sextet led by Lithuanian double bassist, composer and one of the most intriguing Lithuanian musicians, Aurelijus Užameckis. In 2021, he released jaw-dropping double bass solo debut album Signals (CRRNT). Apart from Užameckis, musicians from various corners of Europe play in the band. All of them are united by Copenhagen, the city where their collaboration began and where all members currently reside.

Head Borders is hard to pigeonhole. The album is a confluence of numerous genres and subgenres. Avant-garde jazz and contemporary classical with touches of hip-hop, rock and other styles.

As regards compositions, for which Užameckis is largely responsible, there is a strong tendency towards lyricism and long, drone-like sounds are dominant. His compositions are laid out delicately, giving broad room for each instrument to unfold. And here the wind section fares particularly well—comprising bass clarinet, recorder flute, tenor saxophone and trumpet. "Head Borders" has broader instrumental variety, and therefore has more space to show its compositional skills and ingenuity while increasing dynamism. He has dealt very well with all the compositional challenges on his way and revealed himself as a creative whirlwind.

The album resonates with the work of Nate Wooley, Anthony Braxton, Wadada Leo Smith and Mats Gustafsson, plus there are with noticeable influences from Užameckis' compatriots, the playful and groovy drummer/percussionist Dalius Naujokaitis-Naujo and ferocious reedman Liudas Mockūnas. It's contemplative, vivid, full of compositional surprises and prepared to satisfy the most discerning ears.

Track Listing

Space Migration (feat. Joel Henryson); Summer Manifesto (dedicated to Jonas Mekas); The Foreseeing Shepherd; Glory to This, Glory to That; Tear Down The Borders; Recall (feat. Simon Mariegaard); Surge!; Walk Slow But Walk Forward (feat. Kojos Sopa).


Aurelijus Užameckis: bass; Halym Kim: drums; Irene Bianco: percussion; Marcus Warnheim: clarinet, bass; Jon Sensmeier: saxophone, tenor; Erik Kimestad: trumpet.

Additional Instrumentation

Halym Kim: drums; Irene Bianco: vibraphone, percussion; Marcus Wärnheim: bass clarinet, recorder, flute; Jon Sensmeier: tenor saxophone; Erik Kimestad: trumpet; Aurelijus Užameckis: contrabass.

Album information

Title: Head Borders | Year Released: 2022 | Record Label: CRRNT Records

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album



The Way of the Groove
Ben Patterson
Skopje Jazz Inc.
Times Like These
Nica Carrington


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.