Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Meridian Odyssey: Earthshine


Meridian Odyssey: Earthshine


Sign in to view read count
Meridian Odyssey: Earthshine
Meridian Odyssey is a sextet comprising young musicians from the improbable jazz territory of Big Lake, Alaska, and Earthshine is their second recording together, with trumpeter Noah Halpern having been added to the quintet since the ensemble's 2021 debut album, Second Wave. On Earthshine, there are nine original compositions by members of the group, two of which ("The Front of the Mirror," "Reflecting") are roughly a minute or so long.

"Mirror" was written by and features bassist Ben Feldman playing alone, while "Reflecting," composed by pianist Dylan Hayes, consists of ethereal sound effects produced on his keyboard. If nothing else, Earthshine serves to emphasise that, in spite of the many obstacles to inhibit their progress, including a global pandemic, young jazz musicians are flourishing on today's scene. A few, like Meridian Odyssey, have even landed recording contracts with established labels. True, the audience is not what it once was, but that is hardly their fault.

Technically, Meridian Odyssey is on even terms with most groups its size, while the soloists (mainly Halpern, Hayes and tenor saxophonist Santosh Sharma) are quite capable yet less than remarkable. They simply play well while respecting the precepts and boundaries of contemporary jazz. The same holds true for the material, nothing amiss yet nothing that rises appreciably above the norm. There are nice splashes of color here and there, as on guitarist Martin Budde's "Tuesday Wednesday," Feldman's "Searchlight" and Sharma's "Earthshine," and the group swings nicely on several numbers, especially "In Front of the Mirror" and "Song for Jovino." But when all is added up, the sum total is about average or at most a trace above.

That is not to say Meridian Odyssey is lacking in polish or diligence—only that Earthshine is not in every respect as bright and warm as could be envisioned. Even though the shine is less than radiant in this precinct, other listeners may find more harmony and solace in its afterglow.

Track Listing

XD; Tuesday Wednesday; In Front of the Mirror; Behind the Mirror; Searchlight; About Time; Song for Jovino; Reflecting; Earthshine.


Meridian Odyssey
band / ensemble / orchestra
Santosh Sharma
saxophone, tenor
Noah Halpern
Dylan Hayes
Additional Instrumentation

Ben Lange: mandolin; Jeff Busch: percussion.

Album information

Title: Earthshine | Year Released: 2022 | Record Label: Origin Records


For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Ruth Goller
Mike LeDonne
Heart Mind and Soul
Randy Bernsen
Tidal Currents: East Meets West
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra


Vijay Iyer
Jazz Hands
Bob James
London Afrobeat Collective

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.