Home » Jazz Musicians » Discography » The Ellis Marsalis International Jazz Piano Competition presents The Finalists

The Ellis Marsalis International Jazz Piano Competition presents The Finalists

Label: Nu Jazz Records/Nu Jazz Entertainment
Released: 2020
Duration: 72:00:00
Views: 1,057


1. Street Light Serenade (Original) -Joshua Espinoza; 2. Saint Mark's Place (Original) - Ben Paterson; 3. Mambo Inn - Arcoiris Sandoval; 4. Mozartin - Isaiah J. Thompson; 5. Walking To New Orleans - Oscar Rossignoli; 6. Cochise - Rina Yamazaki; 7. Confirmation - Dave Meder; 8. Just Squeeze Me – Joshua Espinoza feat Camille Thurman; 9. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most - Ben Paterson; 10.. Fox Hunt - Arcoiris Sandova; 11. IT Department (Original) - Isaiah J. Thompson; 12. Heart Beat (Original) - Oscar Rossignoli ; 13. My Funny Valentine – Rina Yamazaki; 14. After - Dave Meder


Album Description

One of the most unique aspects of this competition was the structure of the side-personnel that performed with the competitors. Structured as male/female duos, these individuals along with the competitors showed the most diverse grouping of competitors any jazz competition has ever put forth to date. What you will see represented by the music you hear on this album represents what I consider to be my understanding of the Ellis Marsalis legacy. In essence, his legacy is not merely about music or jazz at all. What I learned from E after all of this time is that Jazz music is synonymous with the essence of life. It welcomes all, it provides hope, it sustains the courageous, it experiences despair, it can exude great joy, it can exhibit great comfort, and it can be understood regardless of sex, age, religion, or language. Jazz music represents the hope that we all seek in life for a better tomorrow. These competitors of the 2018 Ellis Marsalis International Jazz Piano Competition represent the best indication that said hope is not misplaced.

Post a comment about this album


Album uploaded by Jerald Miller

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.