Home » Jazz Musicians » Jorge Sylvester Discography

In the Ear of the Beholder

Jorge Sylvester

Label: Jazz Magnet Records
Released: 2001
Views: 1,873


1. TAMBOR – THE MIX - 12:42 2. SLY MONGOOSE - 7:40 3. CORAZÓN REBELDE - 5:37 4. POR LA CLAVE - 10:12 5. IN THE EAR OF THE BEHOLDER POR LA CLAVE PART II - 17:42 6. SONGOAJIRA - 9:24 7. KING'S HIGHWAY - 6:50 8. TROPICANDO - 5:29 All compositions and arrangements by Jorge Sylvester except Sly Mangoose by Jack Edwards and Corazón Rebelde by Alberto Barreto.


Jorge Sylvester
saxophone, alto
Donald Nicks
bass, electric

Additional Personnel / Information

Jorge Sylvester - Alto saxophone, hand claps, voice, cuica voice effect, maracas and cowbell Donald Nicks - Electric bass guitar and fretless bass guitar on KING'S HIGHWAY. Bobby Sanabria - Drums and all Bells. Jorge Sylvester plays Vandoren mouthpieces and Reeds exclusively. Bobby Sanabria plays Pearl drums, Sabian cymbals, Latin Percussion Inc. instruments, Remo drum heads and Vic Firth sticks and mallets. All compositions and arrangements by Jorge Sylvester except Sly Mangoose by Jack Edwards and Corazón Rebelde by Alberto Barreto.

Album Description

AFRO-CARIBBEAN EXPERIMENTAL TRIO The Afro-Caribbean Experimental Trio [ACE] is a concept created by saxophonist/arranger/ composer Jorge Sylvester combining three textures within the Afro-Caribbean idiom. The compositions and arrangements are written specifically for saxophone, electric bass and drums. The other members of the trio are drummer/percussionist Bobby Sanabria and bassist Donald Nicks. ACE utilizes the rich spectrum of rhythms from the Caribbean and other Latin American countries as a vehicle to create new and undiscovered rhythmic-melodic lines. ACE's unique compositional approach is on the forefront of today's musical scene reaching into the future exploring new sounds and concepts within the Afro-Caribbean realm. Produced by: Jorge Sylvester Executive Producers: Fernando Natalici & Leonardo Pavkovic Engineer: Rob Holland Recorded at Good & Evil Recording Studio Brooklyn, NY on June 19 & 20, 2000 Mixed by: Rob Holland and Jorge Sylvester Mixed at Dangerous Music Recording Studio, New York, NY on July 14, 2000 Digitally Mastered by: Ivan Joseph Goldberg at Miracle Mastering Studios", NJ Photos by: Fernando Natalici Art Direction+Design: Edgard Moscatelli Creative Consultant: Nora McCarthy * This CD was mastered utilizing the WAVES L2 digital limiter. No equalization was used in order to preserve the integrity of the original "live in studio recording. A Music Magnet Media, Inc. Production. + © 2000 Music Magnet Media, Inc. Production Acknowledgements: To my parents Muriel and George Sylvester for their musical support, to Fernando Natalici for making the project possible. To Edgard, Leonardo and Jimmy from Music Magnet Media. To Ramsey Aameen, Bobby and Donald for their inspiration and support. Rob Holland, Ivan Goldberg, Nora McCarthy, Gene Jackson, Marvin Sewell, Jeff Carney, Michael Valdez, Benny Russell, Sam Newsome, Alex Harding, Aaron Stewart, Oliver Lake, Ayo Osinibi, Stephen Smith, Zoila Sylvester, Jean- Paul Gauvin and Sandy Neil from Vandoren Co., Mark Gross, Tim Armacost, Mitch Goldman, Rabbi Gilman and Donald Jackson. This music is presented in its original form without any overdubs or additional embellishments. Jorge Sylvester's vest is designed by Malick Tall. This recording is dedicated to the memory of poet Akin Wale Pitan-Ogun Adisa and to the entire universe. ALL COMPOSITIONS © 2000 LIZOKA MUSIC/ASCAP


Next >



More Albums

Recordings: As Leader | As Sideperson

Mayhem At Large - The...

RedZen Records


Jorge Sylvester Ace...

Four (friends Of Unseen Rain)


Jorge Sylvester ACE...

Four (friends Of Unseen Rain)


Spirit Driven

Four (friends Of Unseen Rain)


In the Ear of the...

Jazz Magnet Records


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.