Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Blaer: Yellow


Blaer: Yellow


View read count
Blaer: Yellow
With a whispery shifting undertow, Swiss pianist-composer Maja Nydegger constructs her vivid, musical imaginings of Yellow on the memories of melodies perceived and experienced in other lifetimes, in other dimensions, in other states of humanness. Some, like the quietly sensual title track and its immediate successor, "The Unknown," expand towards full consciousness slowly, methodically urging you into that headspace where time's fluidity isn't the insistent threat of mortality but a warm, welcome embrace. Others, like the feverish, fractal sawing of "Years," even with its calming coda, sweep you into the rushing tide.

Her quintet—the shadowy presence of saxophone/bass clarinetist Nils Fischer and his more biting counterpart, saxophonist Claudio von Arx, gravity-free drummer Philippe Ducommun and Simon Iten's atmospheric bass—present Nydegger's hypnotic intentions as an ambient continuum where the feel of the piece weighs more than the music itself. In that open, communal space the reeds compliment and comfort while adding tension and counterpoint to Nydegger's plaintive compositions. From their debut release Blaer (Morpheus Records, 2013) through 2017's widely recognized Out of Silence (Morpheus Records), Blaer have proven themselves more than worthy acolytes of pianist, Zen groove master Nik Bärtsch (who co-produced the album with Nydegger.) But, within tracks like "All We Need" and "Arktis," the maturer sounding Yellow eschews Bartsch's sometimes too-calculated, too-mathematical yet exciting inclinations for a warmer, intimate, daresay poppier glow, intuitively and perceptively offsetting the characteristic Nordic cool which recordings of this kind can all-too-readily exhibit.

Track Listing

Yellow; The Unknown; Years; Kosmo; Epilog; All We Need; Artkis.


band / ensemble / orchestra
Nils Fischer
Claudio von Arx
Simon Iten
bass, acoustic

Maja Nydegger: piano, composition; Nils Fischer: saxophone, bass clarinet; Claudio von Arx: saxophone; Simon Iten: double bass; Philippe Ducommun: drums.

Album information

Title: Yellow | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Ronin Rhythm Records

< Previous
Ordinary Heroes



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Antonio Farao
Timing Is Everything
Eric Alexander
In Situ
Alexa Torres


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.