Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Phronesis: We Are All


Phronesis: We Are All


Sign in to view read count
Phronesis: We Are All
The incendiary playing on the opener "One For Us" augurs well for the rest of this, the eighth album by Phronesis. Their previous CD, The Behemoth was released in 2017 to widespread critical acclaim. It seems incredible that Jasper Høiby's brainchild has racked up so many consistently excellent recordings to date.

Ivo Neame's "Matrix For D.A." opens with elliptical piano-phrases vying with equally curt percussion, but the duet is rapidly joined by pizzicato bass to balance the piece. Høiby's poignantly lugubrious arco bass introduces Anton Eger's elegiac "The Edge," but gives way to fleet-footed pizzicato lines as the trio gradually builds the tension. Neame initially takes a more languid chordal approach but ups the ante with more florid single note runs as the whole number builds to a crescendo.

As a centrepiece, the rapid cascade of notes in the midst of Neame's second composition, "Emerald Horseshoe," is jaw-droppingly impressive, the tension, almost imperceptibly mounting towards its climactic release. Høiby's pastoral "Breathless" is a vehicle for the bassist's bravura performance evincing a deeply resonant pizzicato tone others would kill for. "The Tree Did Not Die," Eger's second composition, involves Neame's employment of, alternately, keyboard organ-tone and piano that results in a composition noticeably contrasting with the preceding five tracks, and which utilises both pulsating rhythms and swirling harmonies in a mesmerising melange of sound.

Make no mistake, Phronesis don't play facile music, indeed their output typically demands a greater degree of concentration on the part of the listener than much contemporary jazz, but the concomitant payoff is considerable. These are compositions upon which to reflect, which is appropriate really considering one definition of the ancient Greek word phronesis is actually mindfulness.

Track Listing

One for Us; Matrix for D.A.; The Edge; Emerald Horseshoe; Breathless; The Tree Did Not Die.


band / ensemble / orchestra

Jasper Høiby: double bass; Ivo Neame: piano; Anton Eger: drums.

Album information

Title: We Are All | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Edition Records


For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Blue Topaz
Peter Hand
Midnight Rose
Paul Rodgers
Open Me: A Higher Consciousness of Sound and...
Kahil El'Zabar's Ethnic Heritage Ensemble
Modern Art Trio
Franco D'Andrea, Franco Tonani, Bruno Tommaso.


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.