Tom Green Septet: Tipping Point

Chris May By

Sign in to view read count
Tom Green Septet: Tipping Point
The second album from British trombonist, composer and arranger Tom Green's Septet follows the little-big-band's locally acclaimed Skyline (Spark), released back in 2015. Rather remarkably, the only change to the lineup since then is the replacement of alto and soprano saxophonist Matthew Herd by Tommy Andrews.

Green's specialism appears to be big bands. His other core project is the Patchwork Jazz Orchestra, a co-operative 17-piece in which some of the Septet's members play. Patchwork's debut, The Adventures Of Mr Pottercakes, was released in 2019 on Spark, a label Green set up with drummer JJ Wheeler in 2014 after graduating from London's Royal Academy of Music's jazz course.

A skilled arranger, Green scores intricate, richly-textured orchestrations which make the Septet sound like a much larger outfit. He also writes strong tunes and all the pieces on Tipping Point are originals, Joni Mitchell's "My Old Man" excepted. On top of this, Green is well served by six technically adroit musicians, of whom Andrews, trumpeter James Davison and pianist Sam James make particular impressions as soloists.

So far, so good. What some listeners might like to hear more of in Tipping Point is passion. There is a palpable sense of commitment, a necessary prerequisite for successfully negotiating Green's complex and nuanced arrangements. But, by the end of the album, it is hard to escape the feeling that you have been listening to an academic exercise, one overly concerned with musicianly and writerly technique. There is energy on display here, yes, but energy is not necessarily vibrancy. It is a shame, because everything else about the album is first rate.

Track Listing

Tipping Point; Champagne Sky; Kaleidoscope; Between Now And Never; Seatoller; My Old Man; Jack O’Lantern; Chorale.


Tom Green: trombone; Tommy Andrews: saxophone, alto; Sam Miles: saxophone, tenor; James Davison: trumpet; Sam James: piano; Misha Mullov-Abbado: bass, acoustic; Scott Chapman: drums.

Album information

Title: Tipping Point | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Spark

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


J. Peter Schwalm & Markus Reuter
Liudas Mockūnas / Arvydas Kazlauskas
Chapter One
Marieke Koopman
Gerald Cleaver


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.