Home » Jazz Articles » Ecliptic: The Path of 01

Album Review

Ecliptic: The Path of 01


Sign in to view read count
Ecliptic: The Path of 01
Slovenian jazz guitarist Jani Moder composed all of the music for this project, but it is arranged by the band, and is very much a group sound. Only trumpeter Igor Matković appeared on Moder's previous release Jani Moder's Brain Blender: Abacus (ZKP RTV SLO, 2014), but his role here has expanded from guest to a significant lead voice. The ensemble has a different focus as well; gone are the keyboards and mallets which were so prominent in Brain Blender. Moder is now the only harmonic instrument, joined by bass, beat box and drums in the rhythm section. Everyone is credited with either effects or electronics.

"Analog Chief" opens the set with an ambient soundscape, before launching into a ritualistic rhythm and a long-line theme with trumpet and guitar. Moder takes his first solo with an over-driven sound and a rock rhythm. Things get more atmospheric for Matković's trumpet solo, evoking Miles Davis' spacier fusion albums. "Catcher (E.l.a.)" has a ballad feel, its haunting trumpet theme freely accompanied by the guitar.

"Flashback" comes on strong with a heavy rock rhythm and a bold theme, which cools down to a reggae feel for the bridge (lots of spacey dub-style effects as well). There is also room for the experimentation of brief tracks like "Emptiness" and "Are we digital?" The set closes with two very different tracks; the aptly named "Cowboi" really does sound like a Western movie theme. It's a bit surprising even on a program this eclectic, but sounds great. "Miss Feather" concludes the album with a little bit of everything. Spacey atmosphere gives way to more Miles Davis-like funky trumpet, and then the driving final theme kicks in.

It is a vibrant set, and the band says that it was recorded live in a single big room, all in one day. Easy to believe, and a pleasure to hear.

Track Listing

Analog Chief; Emptiness; Catcher (E.l.a.); Are we digital?; Flashback; Time to Leave the Party; Saltobeat; Cowboi; Miss Feather.


Jani Moder: guitar; Igor Matković: trumpet; Jani Hace: bass; Murat: percussion; Ziga Kozar: drums.

Album information

Title: The Path of 01 | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Modigo Records

Post a comment about this album



Blue Haven
Joey Alexander
Shifting Sands
Avishai Cohen


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.