All About Jazz

Home » Search Center » Results: The Rough Guide To South African Jazz

Results for "The Rough Guide To South African Jazz"

Advanced search options


The Rough Guide To South African Jazz

Label: World Music Network
Released: 2000
Track listing: 1. Noto Sangoma - African Jazz Pioneers; 2. Thaba Bosiu - Sipho Mabuse; 3. African Marketplace - Abdullah Ibrahim; 4. Tunji's Song - Chris McGregor & the Brotherhood of Breath; 5. Cabbage and Roti - Deepak Ram; 6. Mabarane - Sheer All Stars ; 7. Marabi Kwela - West Nkosi ; 8. Siyavuya - Miriam Makeba & the Skylarks ; 9. Twelve Times Twelve - The Jazz Epistles ; 10. See You Later - Lemmy Special ; 11. Genes and Spirits - Moses Taiwa Molelekwa ; 12. Election Day Serenade - Pops Mohamed ; 13. Closer to the Source - Bheki Mseleku ; 14. UDF - Chris McGregor & the Brotherhood of Breath ; 15. Wait Awhile - Winston's Jive Mix-Up ; 16. You Think You Know Me - Zim Ngqawana.


Article: Album Review

Various: The Rough Guide to South African Jazz

Read "The Rough Guide to South African Jazz" reviewed by Ed Kopp

To Americans, the sound of South African jazz is both oddly familiar and wonderfully exotic. The familiar aspect is easy to explain: From Louis Armstrong onward, American artists have exerted a strong influence over South Africa's pop and jazz musicians. Genres as diverse as doo-wop, R&B and bebop have all been incorporated in South African jazz. ...


Contest Giveaways
Enter our latest contest giveaway sponsored by AGS Recordings

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.