Home » Search Center » Results: Alexis Parsons

Results for "Alexis Parsons"

Advanced search options

Results for pages tagged "Alexis Parsons"...


Alexis Parsons


Article: Radio & Podcasts

From Charles Lloyd & Eric Dolphy to Rich Halley & Kevin Sun

Read "From Charles Lloyd & Eric Dolphy to Rich Halley & Kevin Sun" reviewed by Jerome Wilson

This program features music by old masters like Charles Lloyd, Eric Dolphy and Dave Brubeck as well as more contemporary musicians like Cory Weeds, Rich Halley and Kevin Sun. Playlist Henry Threadgill Sextett “I Can't Wait Till I Get Home" from The Complete Novus & Columbia Recordings of Henry Threadgill & Air (Mosaic) 00:00 ...



Label: New Artists Records
Released: 2021
Track listing: Easy to Love; I Didn’t Know What Time It Was; Make It Last; Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most; Organ Grinder; Devil May Care; Summertime; Speak Low; Gentle Rain; Weaver of Dreams; In the Still of the Night.


Article: Album Review

Alexis Parsons: Alexis

Read "Alexis" reviewed by Richard J Salvucci

Alexis Parsons is an honest-to-goodness jazz singer. She has considerable vocal chops, a wide range and great time. She usually comes in right on or slightly behind the beat. Except when she does not. Which makes for considerable contrast and interest. Her sense of drama is apropos ("Organ Grinder" may be the sole exception, but de ...


Article: Album Review

Alexis Parsons: Alexis

Read "Alexis" reviewed by Jack Bowers

The self-named Alexis is the third album by New York-based vocalist Alexis Parsons. To showcase her talents, she has chosen a medley of standards (half a dozen) and lesser-known but engaging originals, opening and closing with the Cole Porter classics “Easy to Love" and “In the Still of the Night." Rodgers and Hart, the Gershwins, Kurt ...


Article: Radio & Podcasts

New Releases from Yoron Israel, Nicole Glover, Esperanza Spalding, Kurt Elling and Alexis Parsons

Read "New Releases from Yoron Israel, Nicole Glover, Esperanza Spalding, Kurt Elling and Alexis Parsons" reviewed by Mary Foster Conklin

This broadcast includes new releases from drummer Yoron Israel, saxophonist Nicole Glover, bassist Esperanza Spalding, vocalists Camille Bertault, Kurt Elling and Alexis Parsons, with birthday shoutouts to Koko Taylor, Lauren White, Laila Biali and Carolina Calvache. Thanks for listening and please support the artists you hear by purchasing their music during this time of pandemic so ...


Alexis Parsons

Label: Self Produced
Released: 2011
Track listing: The Winter of My Discontent; Hello Young Lovers; Just Squeeze Me; Lazy Afternoon; Only Trust Your Heart; Make It Last; She; You Must Believe In Spring.


Article: Album Review

Alexis Parsons: Alexis Parsons

Read "Alexis Parsons" reviewed by Dan Bilawsky

Chicago-born/New York-bred vocalist Alexis Parsons has often worked with trios, but pares down the instrumental backing for this self-titled release. Alexis Parsons presents eight numbers that pair the singer with piano ace Frank Kimbrough, whose classy, top-shelf accompaniment, combined with Parsons' lovely and occasionally languorous vocals, bring a pleasant, sleepy quality to this music.


Contest Giveaways
Enter our latest contest giveaway sponsored by Craft Recordings
Jazz Polls
Vote for your Favorite Living Saxophonists, Favorite Legacy Saxophonists, Your Favorite Living Vocalists and Your Favorite Vibraphonists.
Publisher's Desk
Participate in Play This!
Read on...

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.