Superposition: Superposition

Friedrich Kunzmann By

Sign in to view read count
Superposition: Superposition
This outing by Helsinki-based jazz group Superposition is as bold as debut records come. In place of catchy melodies, the reeds focus on odd lines composed of small intervals. Instead of comfortable swing and funky shuffles, bass-and snare-drum work up a choppy sweat to wild cymbal blows. Not to mention the unstoppable double-bass fingers, running up and down the frets like a bullet climbing a staircase. Over the span of eight original compositions, Superposition presents an unquenchable thirst for the unexpected.

Drummer Olavi Louhivuori is arguably the most widely known member of this quartet—renowned among other things for his work with Tomasz Stanko as well as Finland's Ilmiliekki Quartet. The other members are Linda Fredriksson and Adele Sauros on saxophones and Mikael saastamoinen on bass. Each musician is of equal importance and prominence within the music. But democracy knows various faces: the album begins hectically. In "Antiplace" and "Bilawal" the group goes rumbling and tumbling down winding paths held together by quirky unison passages and lively dynamic arcs. Each instrument contributes in a highly percussive manner—be it the clicking and clacking of the saxophone buttons, the upper register, almost toneless frequencies of the bass, or the deconstructed drum inserts.

The first two blustering starters to the album however are deceiving. Sonic experiments based on few motifs and percussive impulses are presented on "Wasteland" and "Mimo," while compositions such as "Ballad No.3" and "Choral" find the four in a slightly more harmonious mood, relying on intimacy and fragile conversation. The only time the band lets melody prevail, in a truly melancholic and moody way, however, is at the very end. Closing meditation "March" is a tender affair built around simple melodic language and a subtle harmonic upward movement, serving as the perfect ending to an impressive debut set deserving of great acclaim.

Track Listing

Antiplace; Bilawal; Ballad No. 3; Miimo; Choral; Wasteland; For The Fallen; March.


Olavi Louhivuori : drums; Adele Sauros: saxophone; Linda Fredriksson: saxophone; Mikael saastamoinen: bass.

Album information

Title: Superposition | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: We Jazz Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Monaco, Meurkens, Hoyson, Lucas
J. Peter Schwalm / Markus Reuter
Cool With That
East Axis


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.