Peter Eldridge, Kenny Werner: Somewhere

Edward Blanco By

Sign in to view read count
Singer Peter Eldridge, founding member of the famed New York Voices, and veteran pianist and composer Kenny Werner, a world-class performer for over 40 years, finally come together for a collaboration of talent and song that has been percolating for nearly a decade. The result is the incredible, sophisticated harmonic treasure Somewhere, a masterful fusion of song, talent and magic, nicely wrapped in an audacious eleven-track vocal album.

The breadth of the project was not fully known to the singer and only revealed upon arrival at the studio when confronted with a 40-piece orchestra. Thus, the musical backup comprised a 20-piece string section (the Fantastical String Orchestra) in addition to featured artists Yoron Israel on drums, Matt Aronoff on bass and special guest George Garzone on the tenor saxophone ("Ballad for Trane"), all combining to make this recording outstanding in every way.

Although this album contains a few well-known classics and standards—such as the medley "Somewhere" and "A Time For Love," the Ivan Lins standard "Minds of Their Own," and the opening Cindy Walker & Eddie Arnold classic "You Don't Know Me"—the majority of the music reveals many Eldridge and Werner originals with arrangements provided by the pianist.

It is more than an album of ballads and love songs, it is a musical experience reflecting the many faces of life from love to joy, from lament to "That Which Can't be Explained," a delicious number. Somewhere delivers a ton of enjoyable music showcasing Eldridge's unique vocals and Werner's exceptional skills for an all-round killer of a recording.

Track Listing

You Don't Know Me; I'm So Glad You're Mine; That Which Can't Be Explained; Autumn In Three; Minds Of Their Own; Less Than Lovers; Difficult; Ballad For Trane; Somewhere/A Time For Love; Untitlted Lament; Day Is Done (Prayer For Diego).


Peter Eldridge: vocals, piano (7); Kenny Werner: piano, electric piano, string arrangements; Eugene Friesen: cello, string arrangement (7), conductor; Matt Aronoff: bass; Yoron Israel: drums; George Garzone: tenor saxophone (8); Bengisu Gokce: violin; Louisa Byron: violin; Sienna Seoyeon Im: violin; Francesco Rijks: violin; Tania Mesa: violin; Ruah Yeonsong Kim: violin; Cansu Oyzurek: violin; Cynthia (Pei Hua) Lin: violin; Tim Bilodeau: violin; Louise Bichan: violin; Cecelia Cook: viola; Gerson Equiguren: viola; Jenny Frantz: viola; Cristobal Cruz Garcia: cello; Aodan Collins: cello; Peter Yuezhang Liu: cello; Victor Gonzalez: bass; Marcelo MacCagnan: bass; Tatyana Phillips: harp.

Album information

Title: Somewhere | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Rosebud Music



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.

Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers
CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more
Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads
Specializing in music, movies and video games
Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear