Expansions: The Dave Liebman Group: Samsara

Budd Kopman By

Sign in to view read count
Expansions: The Dave Liebman Group: Samsara
Dave Liebman is forever restless. An extremely emotional and expressive player, he has formed, after 20 years in a group featuring guitarist Vic Juris, the new group Expansions, purposefully bringing in and connecting with players of the younger generation. Adapting himself to their harmonic language and rhythmic patterns, he continues to expand and grow, resulting in the superb album Samsara.

The new group includes bassist Tony Marino, with whom he has a twenty year relationship, and three adept and original young players -keyboardist Bobby Avey, reed man Matt Vashlishan and drummer Alex Ritz. He knew Avey and Vashlishan from many interactions in his local area, and Ritz was recommended by other drummers with whom he had worked.

The group has obviously developed great rapport, because while Liebman always leans towards free improvising, the music is tight as a drum. Avey and Vashlishan push Liebman as much as he leads them, and Ritz reacts instantly to any and all twists and turns, while Marino always seems to know what to do, and when to do it.

Liebman is just as likely to play an achingly beautiful line as he is to shriek or erupt with a blizzard of notes. The free sections are bound by those with (a usually complex) groove, making the music quite accessible. Stylistically, the music lies between modern post-bop and the avant-garde, as high energy (though always under control) pieces alternate with melodic and/or tonal ones. Thus, Expansions' music is quite accessible by most everyone. Listeners experienced with the modern, more experimental side of jazz will feel quite at home and just might hear echoes of the music of say, Greg Osby or Loren Stillman.

Avey and Vashlishan helped produce the record and did the editing and mixing. They are central to Samsara's sound; an Avery composition "Simply" opens the album and the title tune "Samsara" by Vashlishan, closes it. Every track, even such melodic ones as "Sivad" or "Searcher 2" is quite intense, producing a pacing that builds to the highly emotional "Child Refugee" and the smoking "Samsara." While Avey's keyboards provide the harmonic foundation and spice, Vashlishan is Liebman's partner and foil; they trade lines many times, as well as producing contrapuntal harmony.

Samsara is exciting music, and from the opening notes of "Simply" to the last notes of "Samsara," one cannot turn away. Simply fantastic.

Track Listing

Simply; Ugly Beauty; Endive; Liberian Hummingbird; Rhythm Thing; Searcher 2; Level One; Embers; Sivad; Child Refugee; Samsara.


Dave Liebman: soprano saxophone, wooden flute; Bobby Avey: piano, electric piano; Matt Vashlishan: alto saxophone, clarinet, flute; Tony Marino: electric bass, acoustic bass; Alex Ritz: drums, frame drum.

Album information

Title: Samsara | Year Released: 2014 | Record Label: Whaling City Sound

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Daniel Thatcher
New Leaves
Dan Rose, Claudine Francois
Steve Swell
A Swingin' Sesame Street Celebration
Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton...


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.