Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Kaja Draksler / Petter Eldh / Christian Lillinger: Punkt.Vrt.Plastik

John Sharpe By

Sign in to view read count
Three outrageously talented up-and-coming players on the European scene join energies on a program of spiky attitude based around rhythmically dynamic foundations. German drummer Christian Lillinger and Swedish bassist Petter Eldh may be best known as the potent bedrock of the Amok Amor Quartet which featured trumpeter Peter Evans. Now they fulfill the same function in a new co-operative trio with Amsterdam-based Slovenian pianist Kaja Draksler, who reveals a more wayward side than manifest on her ambitious octet release Gledalec (Clean Feed, 2017).

Each of the three principals brings charts to this 2018 studio date. The exciting opener "Nuremberg Amok" demonstrates their modus operandi, passing in a blaze of overlapping layers which often willfully avoid intersection, to create an edgy caffeinated feel. Lillinger's stuttery nervy pulsation provides the dominant characteristic, but although fast and busy he promotes stasis as often as momentum. Eldh is a muscular presence, strong enough to anchor counter rhythms and force the pace when needed. It's left to Draksler to carry the melodic material, melding it by way of angular attack and reiterated patterns, over, between and among the intricate yet organic meter.

Theirs is unequivocally a group music. Everyone in the band revels in the thick of the action all of the time, as jagged three way lines punctuate the rich harmonies of "Punkt Torso" and the juddery repeated figures of "Azan." When they do lock in together as they do briefly on "Body Decline," it makes the impact all the greater. In spite of the egalitarian ethic occasional pockets of individual accomplishment appear. One is Draksler's hammered excursion to the extremes of the keyboard on her outstanding "Evicted" and another Lillinger's introduction to his own "Plastic," where he seems to pursue at least two simultaneous ideas in different tonalities.

But the key takeaway is that this is an album chock full of dazzling ensemble interaction.

Track Listing: Nuremberg Amok; Evicted; Punkt Torso; Azan; Veins; Body Decline; Plastic; Momentan; Life Is Transient.

Personnel: Kaja Draksler: piano; Petter Eldh: bass; Christian Lillinger: drums.

Title: Punkt.Vrt.Plastik | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Intakt Records


comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read LE10 18-05 Album Reviews
LE10 18-05
By Karl Ackermann
May 20, 2019
Read Remembering Miles Album Reviews
Remembering Miles
By Dan McClenaghan
May 20, 2019
Read Merry Peers Album Reviews
Merry Peers
By Bruce Lindsay
May 20, 2019
Read Music! Music! Music! Album Reviews
Music! Music! Music!
By Doug Collette
May 20, 2019
Read Sheer Reckless Abandon Album Reviews
Sheer Reckless Abandon
By John Kelman
May 19, 2019
Read Gratitude: Stage Door Live @ the Z Album Reviews
Gratitude: Stage Door Live @ the Z
By Jack Bowers
May 19, 2019
Read To My Brothers Album Reviews
To My Brothers
By Victor L. Schermer
May 19, 2019