Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Joe Policastro Trio: Nothing Here Belongs

Dan Bilawsky By

Sign in to view read count
Everything belongs here on Nothing Here Belongs, the first Joe Policastro Trio album to focus primarily on original material. The three previous outings from this Chicago-based outfit sold themselves with a pliable approach to covers. On West Side Story Suite (Self Produced, 2013) it was an expansive brush with Bernstein; with Pops! (Self Produced, 2016) the band tackled popular music, from Burt Bacharach to The Pixies; and through Screen Sounds (Jerujazz Records, 2017) the group visited songs of the silver screen. Now, with this fourth album, the familiar largely recedes.

Policastro and company don't completely do away with covers—there are three of them here, for those who like to keep score—but the bulk of this date looks elsewhere, focusing on the bassist's smart writing and his trio's interplay. "Speak Slow(ly)" finds the band throwing in plenty of twists and turns while also placing its swing bona fides on display. "Bloodshot" puts Dave Miller's coolly pointed guitar in contact with grooves that are at once loose and grounding. "In The Quiet" retains a somewhat reflective stance while drummer Mikel Avery helps it shift gears and change shape. And "Oceans Of Notions," inspired by bassist Ron Carter's way with the pen, presents some of this band's catchiest lines in an upbeat atmosphere. With those originals, and the two that follow, the Joe Policastro Trio marks itself as a cohesive unit with an extraordinarily flexible mindset.

The few covers in this mix create symmetry through their presence, with two bookending the album and one serving as its centerpiece. They also manage to open a window onto the trio's sharp interpretive instincts. A take on Bruce Springsteen's "I'm On Fire" brings a quiet intensity into the picture and even detours into a patch of reggae. "The Wandering Sea," at the album's midpoint, bobs and bounds while hinting at the proto-surfer instrumental school of Santo & Johnny's time. And a "This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)" closer brings an appropriately tight focus and energy to this Talking Heads classic. At every step of the way here, this band breathes and bends as one.

Track Listing: I'm On Fire; Speak Slow(ly); Bloodshot; In The Quiet; The Wandering Dea; Oceans Of Notions; No Idea; Plain Song; The Must Be The Place (Naive Melody).

Personnel: Joe Policastro: bass; Dave Miller: guitar; Mikel Avery: drums.

Title: Nothing Here Belongs | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Jerujazz Records



comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Day to Day Album Reviews
Day to Day
By Paul Naser
May 24, 2019
Read Theia Album Reviews
By Jim Worsley
May 24, 2019
Read Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You Album Reviews
Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You
By Dan McClenaghan
May 24, 2019
Read Nexus Album Reviews
By Jakob Baekgaard
May 23, 2019
Read The Second Coming Album Reviews
The Second Coming
By Daniel Barbiero
May 23, 2019
Read Luminária Album Reviews
By John Sharpe
May 23, 2019