Home » Jazz Musicians » Unhinged Sextet

Unhinged Sextet

Six performers and composers, all with stellar resumes but based in far- reaching corners of the country, were originally drawn together through long-standing mutual associations. Unhinged Sextet is a collaborative jazz ensemble that is committed to the performance of progressive jazz through original composition. The group’s first CD, Clarity (OA2 22116), was released in 2015 and received positive critical review. Their second CD is scheduled for release in August 2017.

Unhinged Sextet: Will Campbell - alto saxophone Matt Olson - tenor saxophone Vern Sielert - trumpet Michael Kocour - piano Jon Hamar - bass Dom Moio - drums

Source: Mark Sullivan


Multiple Reviews
Album Review
Read more articles
Midwest Record (Chris Spector) A bunch of musical pals that have scattered to the four winds reconvene in Phoenix to bake up some fun over last 4th of July weekend. The results are the kind of thing you get when everyone has everyone else's back, nobody's looking to smash mouth any of the others and nobody is telling them what they can and can't do. A progressively swinging big band sound rolls along mightily here with just six guys providing the joyful noise. Exactly the right stuff at the right time for jaded adult jazz ... Jazz Society of Oregon (George Fendel) Here are six players representing five universities spanning the country

Read more


Album Discography

Recordings: As Leader | As Sideperson

Don't Blink

OA2 Records



OA2 Records


Don't Blink

From: Don't Blink
By Unhinged Sextet


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.