Purdie / Fabian / Oswanski: Move On!

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Purdie / Fabian / Oswanski: Move On!
No one receives top billing in this tight-knit trio, which embodies organist Ron Oswanski, bassist Christian Fabian and drummer Bernard "Pretty" Purdie. And that is as it should be, as each of them is indispensable to its success. That success is further predicated on how well the three amigos enhance an agenda that is heavily laden with funk and soul including five greasy compositions by Fabian and others by Duke Ellington, Miles Davis and even Julia Ward Howe (a gritty "Battle Hymn of the Republic").

Once Oswanski, Fabian and Purdie decided that funk was the order of the day, they set about making the music as bright and pleasing as possible, and in that respect they have pretty much succeeded. Oswanski's Hammond B3 is expressive and agile, Fabian's electric bass steady and emphatic, Purdie's drumming sharp and supportive, the teamwork as solid as could be envisioned from three past masters who have traveled this road many times before.

The compass is set on Fabian's "The Red Plaza" and "BPP Blues," which present the trio in a groovy milieu that serves as a harbinger of backbeats to come. After the engaging "Can't You See (You're Doin' Me Wrong)," Fabian returns with two more bass-heavy shufflers, "84-85" and "Got Groove (Part 2)," leading to the album's lone "change of pace," Ellington's "Love You Madly," on which the tempo slows and the funk eases for the first (and only) time. The sinewy "Move On!" (introduced by Purdie's persuasive snares) is next, followed by "Battle Hymn" and Davis' casual "So What," whose spare melody lends itself well to Fabian's sonorous bass.

Move On! was recorded for Consolidated Artists Productions and is dedicated "in loving memory" to the label's founder, pianist / composer Mike Longo, who died in March 2020 from the coronavirus. Make no mistake, this is music whose course is clear and whose rendition is exemplary. Having said that, prospective listeners should be aware that its base is funk, its essence soul, and appraise it from that vantage point. The stars are given primarily for the performance, which is superb.

Track Listing

The Red Plaza; BPP Blues; Can’t You See (You’re Doin’ Me Wrong); 84-85; Got Groove (Part 2); Love You Madly; Move On!; The Battle Hymn of the Republic; So What.


Ron Oswanski: organ, Hammond B3; Christian Fabian: bass, electric; Bernard Purdie: drums.

Album information

Title: Move On! | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: CAP

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Chapter One
Marieke Koopman
Gerald Cleaver
Westward Bound!
Harold Land
Jazz Mix 12
Kris T Reeder
Horizons Quartet
Horizons Quartet


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.