Home » Jazz Articles » Cyrille Aimee: Move On - A Sondheim Adventure


Album Review

Cyrille Aimee: Move On - A Sondheim Adventure


Sign in to view read count
Cyrille Aimee: Move On - A Sondheim Adventure
Cyrille Aimée's latest album may come as a shock to fans of the French vocalist. Gone is the light, bubbly approach that has been her hallmark. Aimée is now a "musical interpreter," no less, and is devoting a whole album to the late works of American composer Stephen Sondheim.

Except for Adrien Moignard's acoustic guitar on "So Many People," she has discarded her marvelous manouche backing band, depriving her of the interplay that made her recent stint at New York's Poisson Rouge so enjoyable. She is now accompanied by American studio musicians and—highly professional though they may be—the chaleur and charm of her work is gone.

Whether these songs deserve her devotion is also debatable. Sondheim is fast approaching his 90th birthday. We're a world away from West Side Story, first staged on Broadway in 1957, and from A Little Night Music and its hit "Send In The Clowns" from 1973. Sondheim's recent work is frankly stodgy, with an over-emphasis on words and not enough attention paid to the music. "No One Is Alone" makes a philosophical point rather than entertains. "Marry Me A Little" is plain outdated. "So Many People" hints at the writer's confusion as an octogenarian in the modern world.

Aimée copes pretty well. Occasional bursts of scat singing show she can still do jazz, and perhaps indicate nervousness concerning her change of direction. Her affection for these Sondheim songs seems genuine. Underneath her frothy French persona, Aimée is a tough cookie who will undoubtedly weather the storm should the rest of the world not share her enthusiasm.

Track Listing

When I Get Famous; Take Me To The World; Love I Hear; Loving You; Marry Me A Little; Being Alive; So Many People; Not While I’m Around; They Ask Me Why I Believe In You; No One Is Alone; Un Baiser D’Adieu (One More Kiss); I Remember; Move On; With So Little To Be Sure Of.


Cyrille Aimée: vocals; Assaf Gleizner, Thomas Enhco: keyboards; Jeremy Bruyere: bass; Yoann Serra: drums; Abraham Mansfaroll: percussion; Rubin Kodhelj: cello; Adrien Moignard, Ralph Lavita, Diego Figueredo, Sebastien Giniaux: guitar; Rubin Kodhelj: guitar and cello; Warren Walker, Bill Todd: tenor saxophone; Maxime Berton: soprano saxophone; Patricia Bartley: alto saxophone; Wayne Tucker: trumpet; Mathias Levy, Fung Chern Hwej, Gregor Huebner: violin; Julie Goodale: viola.

Album information

Title: Move On - A Sondheim Adventure | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Mack Avenue Records

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Borrowed Roses
Gonzalo Rubalcaba
Where Are We
Joshua Redman
Polarity 2
Ivo Perelman / Nate Wooley


Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio
Afro Futuristic Dreams
Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids
Pharoah (Box Set)
Pharoah Sanders
Dynamic Maximum Tension
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society

On the record

Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Jonathan Karrant
Brazilian Match
Luiz Millan
Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.