Home » Music » Song of the Day


Underground Over Night by Pete Johnston

From the album

Album Title: Permanent Moving Parts
All-Set! Editions
Released: 2021


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

"Permanent Moving Parts" is the third album in a jazz trilogy, building on 2020's "False Ghosts and Minor Fears" and "Bog Standards" with more tunes that blur the lines between composition and improvisation in the tradition of the Jimmy Giuffre 3, Carla Bley, and Ornette Coleman, this time with some 1980s-era Rush mixed in to keep it real

Song Listing

Underground Over Night; Everything Happens Once; Weathering Teenage Hopes; Quietly Fading Fast; Possible Daylight Dreams; Imperfect Sunlit Room; Surrender Before Then; Familiar Second Thoughts.



Date featured

March 12, 2021

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Song of the Day

Blue Flower
Spiral Trio
We Met Once
Antonio Flinta
Red and Gold
Jimmy Haslip


George Cotsirilos
What's Up
Andrea Brachfeld
Andy's Lament
Randy Napoleon
In The Garden
Steve Hirsh

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.