Home » Music » Song of the Day


Prickly Pear Cactus by Ikue Mori

From the album

Album Title: Prickly Pear Cactus
Label: Libra Records
Released: 2020


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

"Prickly Pear Cactus" is the title track from Satoko Fujii and Ikue Mori’s album recorded in quarantine over the internet. Working half a world apart from their respective homes in New York and Kobe, composer-instrumentalists Ikue Mori on laptop, Satoko Fujii on piano – with trumpeter Natsuki Tamura joining on several tracks – swapped sound files over the internet to build a remarkably intimate and powerful album. Together they created a triumph of friendship and creativity over the isolation and devastation of the global coronavirus pandemic.

Song Listing

Prickly Pear Cactus; Sweet Fish; Guerrilla Rain; Mountain Stream; Overnight Mushroom; Empty Factory; In the Water; Turning; Muddy Stream; Sign.


Ikue Mori


Date featured

March 5, 2021

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Song of the Day

Mon Chéri
Juliet Varnedoe
Little Gold Fish
Darren Johnston
Last Tango at Stony Brook
Jonathan L Segal
Thomas Heflin


Robert Jukic
December 1: Trill to Begin
Jacqueline Kerrod
Ben Black
It Happens Like That
Katherine Kostoff
Sara Serpa
Thank You, Willie
Nestor Torres
Adam Rudolph

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.