Home » Music » Song of the Day


Neppa by Satoko Fujii

From the album

Album Title: Kikoeru - Tribute to Masaya Kimura
Label: Libra Records
Released: 2018


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

"Neppa" is a track from Satoko Fujii's album "Kikoeru." "Kikoeru," Satoko Fujii's Orchestra Tokyo's sixth release in just over two decades, is their most diverse and rollicking album ever. The album brings to life four compositions by Fujii and two by trumpeter Natsuki Tamura. The album features composer/pianist Fujii, soprano and alto saxophonist Sachi Hayasaka, alto saxophonist Kunihiro Izumi, tenor saxophonists Kenichi Matsumoto and Daisuke Fujiwara, baritone saxophonist Ryuichi Yoshida, trumpet players Natsuki Tamura, Yoshihito Fukumoto, Takao Watanabe, and Yusaku Shirotani, trombone players Haguregumo Nagamatsu, Yasuyuki Takahashi, and Toshihiro Koike, bassist Toshiki Nagata, and drummer Akira Horikoshi. This is the last of her CD-a-month marathon celebrating her kanreki — 60th birthday.

Song Listing

Amadare; Farewell; Kikoeru; Neppa; Stop And Go; Ah Dadada.


Additional Personnel

Kunihiro Izumi: alto saxophone; Kenichi Matsumoto: tenor saxophone; Ryuichi Yoshida: baritone saxophone; Natsuki Tamura: trumpet; Yoshihito Fukumoto: trumpet; Takao Watanabe: trumpet; Yusaku Shirotani: trumpet; Yoshihito Fukumoto: trumpet; Haguregumo Nagamatsu: trombone; Yasuyuki Takahashi: trombone; Toshihiro Koike: trombone.


Date featured

May 11, 2020

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Song of the Day

Golden Proportion
Mary Halvorson
Impending Discomfort
Gordon Grdina
Promise of Return
Lena Bloch
Turn Over
Giuseppe Millaci


Un Poco Loco
Dave Bass
House On a Hill
Terje Gewelt
The Reset
Gordon Goodwin's Big Phat Band
Fever Dream
FivePlay Jazz Quintet
Game Changer
John Moulder
Michael Hudson-Casanova
Above All Else
Michael Gallant

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.