All About Jazz

Home » Music » Song of the Day


en los ojos de los peces by Escribir

From the album

Album Title: Haikus
Label: Isla Desierta Discos
Released: 2021
Duration: 00:28:36


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

‘en los ojos de los peces’ (in the eyes of the fishes) is the seventh track on upcoming album ‘haikus’ by Argentinian group escribir: lead by Juan Saidón. This ballad was composed by guitarists Juan Saidón and Tomás Cabado, who also made joint arrangements for the repertoire featured on ‘haikus’. The group is completed by Leila Chab (soprano clarinet), Patricio Böttcher (bass clarinet), Julián Mekler (double bass) and Manuel Tirso Rubio Carreras (drums). ‘en los ojos de los peces’ opens on a meditative solo guitar introduction that develops into this track’s theme featuring the full ensemble. This track showcases solos by bassist Julián Mekler and guitarist composer and leader of this group Juan Saidón. ‘haikus‘ proposes an array of different pieces not only in the dimension of the ensemble but also in their character, some through-composed and arranged, open pieces loaded with improvisation and others that lay in-between. With this renewed group sound, escribir: balances its characteristic aesthetic with the new possibilities provided by the ensemble. ‘haikus’ out October 15th on Isla Desierta Discos.

Song Listing

tiembla apenas, en la luz que encendemos, la nieve, las tijeras, una montaña sin nombre, a pesar de la niebla (dúo), en los ojos de los peces, una nube de vez en cuando, a pesar de la niebla (trío)


Additional Personnel

Juan Saidón - guitar (L) Tomás Cabado - guitar (R) Leila Chab - soprano clarinet Patricio Böttcher - bass clarinet Julián Mekler - bass Manuel Tirso Rubio Carreras - drums

Date featured

October 10, 2021

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Song of the Day

My One and Only Love
Montreal Jazz Trio
Piotr Scholz
The Reset
Gordon Goodwin's Big Phat Band
The Void
Zacc Harris


Un Poco Loco
Dave Bass
Church Song
Michael Dalgas
Adrianne Duncan
Tiny Circles
Scott Kinsey, Mer Sal
House On a Hill
Terje Gewelt
Fever Dream
FivePlay Jazz Quintet

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.