Michele Rabbia/Gianluca Petrella/Eivind Aarset: Lost River

Mark Sullivan By

Sign in to view read count
Michele Rabbia/Gianluca Petrella/Eivind Aarset: Lost River
The ECM catalog includes a broad range of musical genres: the only things they have in common are a forward outlook and excellent musicianship. But there are some that are truly beyond category, and this largely improvised album is one of them. Italian percussionist Michele Rabbia, Italian trombonist Gianluca Petrella and Norwegian guitarist Eivind Aarset came together at producer Manfred Eichers suggestion. Rabbia and Aarset have played many duo concerts, and Rabbia has also worked with Petrella in other contexts, but this recording is their premier as a trio. In addition to their open-minded approach to improvisation, all three share an interest in expanding their sonic possibilities with electronics.

The titles are all concerned with water. "Nimbus" (a rain cloud) opens the set with atmospheric percussion, the trombone playing a plaintive melody (Petrella often plays a lead role here similar to trumpeters Arve Henriksen and Nils Petter Molvaer on earlier ECM recordings). Rabbia adds a light, steady rhythmic pulse, while Aarset builds an abstract background soundscape. "Flood" is all atmosphere, with guitar soundscapes taking the lead for most of the piece, with a swelling climax that dies out slowly. "What Floats Beneath" is credited to Aarset alone, and features the first traditional guitar sounds: gentle strummed chords, over a background that includes sound effects imitating water.

The title tune is an atmospheric three-way conversation between light percussion, swelling guitar, and trombone (sometimes with echo, briefly in conversation with itself). "Night Sea Journey" features trombone with a wah-wah mute, and a long closing electronic soundscape. "Fluvius" (Latin for river or stream) is credited to Rabbia, and is the longest track at over six minutes. Not at all the percussion-oriented song one might expect, it includes a gentle repeated trombone melody, swelling electronics—and no obvious percussion sounds. The program concludes with two brief tracks: "Flotsam" (wreckage of a ship or its cargo floating or washed up by the sea), an atmospheric drum/guitar duet, and "Wadi" (an Arabic term for a dry riverbed that contains water only when heavy rain occurs), an even more atmospheric closer.

Recent improvisational sessions involving these players include Tigran Hamasyan/Arve Henriksen/Eivind Aarset/Jan Bang: Atmosphères (ECM, 2016) and Giovanni Guidi/Gianluca Petrella/Louis Sclavis/Gerald Cleaver: Ida Lupino (ECM, 2016). But both of these have a particular genre emphasis: Armenian music, especially the composer Komitas, colors Atmosphères; modern jazz informs the sound of Ida Lupino. Here there is no stylistic agenda, to enchanting result.

Track Listing

Nimbus; Flood; What Floats Beneath; Lost River; Styx; Night Sea Journey; Fluvius; What The Water Brings; Flotsam; Wadi.


Michele Rabbia: drums, electronics; Gianluca Petrella: trombone, sounds; Eivind Aarset: guitar, electronics.

Album information

Title: Lost River | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: ECM Records

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Chapter One
Marieke Koopman
Gerald Cleaver
Westward Bound!
Harold Land
Jazz Mix 12
Kris T Reeder
Horizons Quartet
Horizons Quartet


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.