Home » Jazz Articles » Rob Ryndak & Tom Lockwood: Gratitude


Album Review

Rob Ryndak & Tom Lockwood: Gratitude


Sign in to view read count
Rob Ryndak & Tom Lockwood: Gratitude
There's poignancy about the titles of the selections on this fine album that generates reflection. Perhaps that was the intention of the two composers, Rob Ryndak and Tom Lockwood . However, the music of Gratitude—all original, highly textural—solidifies this supposition.

Incorporating a crew of fine Chicago-area musicians along with guest trumpeter Brian Lynch, Ryndak and Lockwood send up an eclectic buffet. The fine writing tends to be more contemporary than straight-ahead. There's also a significant percussive aspect to almost all the tracks. There's a driving "Equilibrium," a samba in "2 Against" and a sparking and swinging "Jackie McFunk," all within the first handful-plus of cuts. Pianist Ryndak -who is terrific throughout -is also a studied and active percussionist. That's your answer.

Multiple-woodwind artist Lockwood shares compositional duties with Ryndak. Lockwood's fare meshes superbly with his buddy's. "So Little Time" is a triple-metered offering with a melancholic melodic line (with terrific solos by guitarist Sasha Brusin, Lynch and the composer). It is an album highlight. The incorporation of vibraphone and cello, juxtaposed with Lockwood's fine soprano on the laid-back "Internal Silence" is another sparkler. Its timbre is perfect for introspection. The modal nature of the noir-ish "I'd Rather Die" is another example, as is the beautifully arranged/orchestrated closer, "Jardin á Giverny."

The ensemble playing and improvisations on this session across the board are A-1. Lockwood's various woodwinds soar and intriguingly explore. Trumpeter Lynch, always a higher-energy chap, is on his game here twirling ignited ribbons of improvised commentary. Rhythm mates pianist Steve Talaga, drummer Jeff Moehle, bassist Karl E. H. Seigfried, mallet man Micah Rutschman, and percussionist Victor Gonzalez are a superior support team.

In an era when streamed-track selectivity is the norm, Gratitude strikes as an effort that is best served in toto. There's too much thought, fine playing, and music here to leave any one morsel behind.

Track Listing

Equilibrium; Whatever Happens; Just as They Are; Jackie McFunk; Hermitage; Two against; Gratitude; So Little Time; Interior Silence; I'd Rather Die; Dwelling in the Present; Jardin á Giverny.


Rob Ryndak: piano and percussion (2, 4, 6, 12); Tom Lockwood: saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet, flute; Brian Lynch: trumpet; Sasha Brusin: electric and acoustic guitar; Karl E.H. Seigfried: electric and acoustic bass; Jeff Moehle: drums; Victor Gonzalez, Jr.: congas, bongos and percussion; Micak Rutschman: vibraphone; Ryan Koranda: cello; Steve Talaga: piano (2, 4, 6, 10, 12), electric piano (8).

Album information

Title: Gratitude | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Pacific Coast Jazz

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.




Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.