Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...

3

Chefa Alonso & Tony Marsh: Goodbye Red Rose (2008/9)

John Eyles By

Sign in to view read count
An air of nostalgia and remembrance pervades this album, starting with its title and cover photograph which portrays the duo of Spanish-born soprano saxophonist Chefa Alonso and Lancaster-born drummer Tony Marsh on stage at The Red Rose in Finsbury Park, north London, on 20th January 2008, during John Russell's long-running monthly improv concert series Mopomoso. In the photograph, the wall behind Alonso and Marsh features the album title in large letters, as the day in question was the last time the venue was used for music; it was eventually demolished in 2013 and is still fondly remembered as an improv venue that hosted many fine concerts and performers. So, this album's first two tracks feature some of the last music heard there.

Although they were both members of the London Improvisers Orchestra, this concert was the first time that Alonso and Marsh played together as a duo, which they continued to do during 2008 and 2009, as evidenced by the other tracks here, three recorded in July 2008, at Flim Flam in London, and one in January 2009, at Huesca, during the duo's tour of Spain.

Right from the first notes they played together as a duo, it was clear that the pair were ideally suited. Marsh had experience playing with saxophonists of the calibre of Mike Osborne, Paul Dunmall and Evan Parker and was adept at supplying subtle support that was never intrusive or rigid. Alonso was herself an experienced percussionist, so her saxophone playing easily fitted in well with Marsh's percussion. Together, the two had the enviable ability to reel off long, flowing lines that were totally compatible and easily became entwined, the whole process managing to sound natural and effortless.

This duo came to an end in 2009 as Alonso completed her time as a student in London and returned to Madrid, where she remains active as an improviser. Marsh continued to play in a variety of ensembles in London until his untimely death from cancer in 2012. He lives on in the memories, thoughts and hearts of those devotees of improvised music who were fortunate enough to experience his playing live in concert or on disc. He also lives on in the fine music he left us, to which this album is a very welcome addition. Thank you, Tony. And Chefa and Red Rose, too.

Track Listing: Goodbye Red Rose (Adios Red Rose) ; By the Hand (de la mano); FlimFlam one (FlimFlam uno); No es un truco (It is not a trick); Frusleria tres (FlimFlam three); Huesca (not Wesker).

Personnel: Chefa Alonso: soprano saxophone; Tony Marsh: percussion

Title: Goodbye Red Rose (2008/9) | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Emanem

Tags

comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read We Are On The Edge: A 50th Anniversary Celebration Album Reviews
We Are On The Edge: A 50th Anniversary Celebration
By Mark Corroto
April 25, 2019
Read Golem Dance Album Reviews
Golem Dance
By Friedrich Kunzmann
April 25, 2019
Read New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4 Album Reviews
New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4
By Dan Bilawsky
April 24, 2019
Read Open Form For Society Album Reviews
Open Form For Society
By Mark Corroto
April 24, 2019
Read Yes Album Reviews
Yes
By John Sharpe
April 24, 2019
Read Avec le temps Album Reviews
Avec le temps
By Mark Sullivan
April 23, 2019
Read Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog Album Reviews
Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog
By Mark Corroto
April 23, 2019