GoGo Penguin: GGP/RMX

Geno Thackara By

Sign in to view read count
GoGo Penguin: GGP/RMX
It was really just a matter of time. With the spirit of techno and trance being such an essential part of GoGo Penguin's musical makeup, the seeds of a remix project have been there all along; they often compose their songs with beat programs before deciding how to arrange them for an acoustic trio, and adding little sonic tweaks to their instruments is just as much a part of the process afterwards. It's perfectly apt that a range of clever musical colleagues would take these pieces straight into full electronic territory to stretch their possibilities even further.

Since the self-titled GoGo Penguin (Blue Note, 2020) made a defining summation of what the band is about, the occasion was just right to make a startling step sideways by overhauling the entire thing. These pieces aren't remixes so much as reinventions. Each collaborator takes the basic core of their track and finds a fresh angle as if building it over from scratch. A mini-suite of two "F Maj Pixie" variations shows this malleability the most, first as a strangely beautiful drift through cyberspace haze, then a jittery Squarepusher take which coasts on funky slap-bass before piling on some buzzsaw beats.

While GGP/RMX dips into similar ear-blistering squeals in a couple more spots, these are generally outweighed by treatments more alluring and exotic. The cinematic sweeping of "To the Nth" gets both a classy string intro and loud glitch breakdown this time around. "Embers" evokes some alien beach at sunset with a light-crackling wash of synth and static, while spots like "Atomised" and "Signal in the Noise" come out danceable and trippy enough for a hopping rave floor. The whole hour is a wild kaleidoscopic journey for a trio that richly deserves it. GoGo Penguin's already-captivating sonic universe just got a whole lot wider.

Track Listing

Kora (Cornelius Remix); Atomised (Machinedrum Remix); Embers (Yosi Horikawa Remix); F Maj Pixie (Rone Remix); F Maj Pixie (Squarepusher Remix); Open (Nathan Fake Remix); Signal in the Noise (808 State Remix); Totem (James Holden Remix); To the Nth (Shunya Remix); Petit_A (Clark Remix); Don’t Go (Portico Quartet Remix).


GoGo Penguin: band/orchestra; Chris Illingworth: piano; Nick Blacka: bass; Rob Turner: drums.

Album information

Title: GGP/RMX | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Blue Note Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


All Without Words: Variations Inspired by Loren
John Daversa Jazz Orchestra Featuring Justin...
Global Entry
Gabriel Evan Orchestra
Live At The Club Polnischer Versager
Casserley / Illvibe / Morgan / Sjostrom
This Song Is New
Lorne Lofsky
Blue Lotus
The New Muse 4Tet
Garden Of Jewels
Ivo Perelman Trio
Virtual Birdland
Arturo O'Farrill


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.