Home » Jazz Articles » Ferg Ireland Trio: Ferg Ireland Trio


Album Review

Ferg Ireland Trio: Ferg Ireland Trio


Sign in to view read count
Ferg Ireland Trio: Ferg Ireland Trio
Bassist Ferg Ireland is a young London lion whose recent credits include pianist Ashley Henry's Beautiful Vinyl Hunter (Sony, 2019) and tenor saxophonist Alex Hitchcock's AUB (Edition, 2020), stonking albums both.

On his own-name debut album, Ireland is joined by drummer James Maddren, who is probably best known for his work with the piano-less trio led by tenor saxophonist Josephine Davies, beloved of this parish. Completing the trio is alto saxophonist Nathaniel Facey, the lineup's relative elder statesman, who emerged in 2007 with the band Empirical.

The album is a joy from the get go. Two of the tracks, "Stay Broke" and "Confession," were previously released as a 12" vinyl EP. At the time, Ireland described them as possessing "deep, dark and raw vibes." They do and they are a delight. But the music on Ferg Ireland Trio is more than just down and dirty. Its defining quality is playfulness, something more usually associated with female-led bands, such as those of saxophonist Ingrid Laubrock and trumpeter Laura Jurd, but one that raises the spirits from which ever gender direction it comes.

Ireland's tunes—all seven on the album were written by him—cover a wide emotional spectrum. "When You Know" is an elegiac ballad with faint echoes of Kurt Weill, which are faintly heard, too, in the happy-go-lucky closer, "Fruit Fly." The Mel in "Mel's Mood" sounds like he or she is a lot of fun, as does whoever has those eponymous "Lips." And the aforementioned opener, "Stay Broke," is double-dipped deep, dark and raw. The tunes are not necessarily ones that you would whistle, they are too asymmetrical to lend themselves to that, but they are pithy and bursting with character.

The Ferg Ireland Trio sounds, in the best way, as though it has embarked on the material with the minimum of rehearsal, staying fresh and in the moment for forty-eight exuberant minutes. It will likely have you dancing in your head.

Track Listing

Stay Broke; Ludwick Blues; Mel’s Mood; When You Know; Lips; Confession; Fruit Fly.


Ferg Ireland: bass, acoustic; Nathaniel Facey: saxophone, alto; James Maddren: drums.

Album information

Title: Ferg Ireland Trio | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Mondegreen

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Conversation Starter
Willie Morris
Melodies of Light
Omri Mor / Yosef-Gutman Levitt
The Quietly Clouds And A Wild Crane
Yuji Takahashi / Sabu Toyozumi


Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio
Afro Futuristic Dreams
Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids
Dynamic Maximum Tension
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society

On the record

Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Jonathan Karrant
Brazilian Match
Luiz Millan
Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.