Home » Jazz Articles » Sharel Cassity: Fearless


Album Review

Sharel Cassity: Fearless


Sign in to view read count
Sharel Cassity: Fearless
Offering her fifth album as leader, saxophonist Sharel Cassity unveils an aptly titled collection of originals and a couple of standards in an album of special significance and meaning in her life, as she confronted a personal health issue that threatened to silence her musical voice forever. This project is not only about producing a delicious bebop sound one will not soon forget but, it is also a testament to her faith and courage in confronting an illness she refused to fear, and finally defeated.

Except for Ray Noble's classic standard "The Very Thought of You," and pianist Richard Johnson's finale tune "Last Minute," Cassity presents seven new originals she penned for this recording while battling Post Lyme Disease. Besides piano man Johnson, also accompanying the saxophonist on this musical journey are Alexander Claffy on bass and Mark Whitfield Jr. rounding out the quartet on the drums.

Holding nothing back, Cassity and crew open up with the rapid-tempo up beat burner "Whimsy" which, adequately describes the fanciful and playful performance of the leader and band on an explosive starter. The title track is no less fearsome just a tad more serious as the saxophonist wields her instrument with force. The bebop sound is in full swing on "North Street," as the mood shifts to a Middle Eastern style reflective of the time the leader lived in Qatar which inspired "Road to Dukhan.

The music takes a softer turn on "Surrender" which highlights bassist Claffy and the pianist on marvelous solo moments. The gentle side of the set continues on the "Ballad for Roy," followed by Cassity's unique version of "The Very Thought of You," and though composed as a ballad, there's plenty of fire from the leader and band on this one.

The brief but moving "Not a Samba" contains slight elements of the Afro-Cuban flavor with the leader on soprano and drummer Whitfield Jr. driving the percussive flair of the piece. Taking to the tenor on the finale ("Last Minute") the saxophonist and cast deliver another blistering performance bookending the session with a lot of heat.

Loaded with exceptional solo moments from everyone in the quartet, Fearless is an exciting, swinging and vibrant documentation of bebop at its best. Sharel Cassity provides a heart-felt performance drawing from her inner strength and will in conquering a personal obstacle with a musical sword and an intrepid assurance.

Track Listing

Whimsy; Fearless; North Street; Road to Dukhan; Surrender; Ballad for Roy; The Very Thought of You; Not a Samba; Last Minute.


Album information

Title: Fearless | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Relsha Music

Post a comment

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Lina Allemano
The Eye is the First Circle
Vanessa Perica Orchestra
Christmas Stories
Christian Sands
RBG Trio
RBG Trio


On the record

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.