Home » Jazz Articles » Radio & Podcasts » Farnell Newton, Nuphar Fey and a tribute to Jon Christensen


Farnell Newton, Nuphar Fey and a tribute to Jon Christensen


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

Two featured new albums from Farnell Newton and Nuphar Fey and a comprehensive tribute to Norwegian drummer Jon Christensen who passed away on 18th February

Farnell Newton gets up on the good foot and heads off full speed ahead on his second leader album for Posi-Tone. This action packed session features the high powered front line of Newton's trumpet, and Brandon Wright's hard-swinging tenor saxophone, alongside the all-star rhythm section of organist Brian Charette and drummer Rudy Royston.

Nuphar Fey's new album tells a story that spans over a period of 8 years, unfolding the impressions of the prominent pianist-composer as she travels through countries and deep life changing experiences.

Norwegian Jon Christensen who passed on 18 February was the go to drummer for ECM Records appearing on much of that labels output. In the late 1960s, Christensen played on several recordings by the composer George Russell. He also was a central participant in the band, Masqualero, with Arild Andersen. From the 1970s onwards he appeared on some of the most notable jazz albums emerging from the European scene. From the mid to late seventies he was a key player in Keith Jarrett's European band.


  • Farnell Newton "The Roots" from Rippin' and Runnin' (Posi-tone) 00:00
  • Nuphar Fey "In The Fall" from Serenity Island (Hypnote Records) 05:49
  • Ralph Towner "Balance Beam" from Solstice : Sound and Shadows (ECM) 13:18
  • Tomasz Stańko "Bluish" from Blueish (Power Bros) 24:33
  • Ketil Bjørnstad, David Darling, Terje Rypdal, Jon Christensen "The Sea II" from The Sea (ECM) 33:02
  • Eberhard Weber "Yellow Fields" from Yellow Fields (ECM) 40:51
  • Jan Garbarek Quartet "Afric Pepperbird" from Afric Pepperbird (ECM) 52:01
  • Farnell Newton "Another Day Another Jones" from Rippin' and Runnin' (Posi-tone) 1:00:36
  • Nuphar Fey "Rainy Mondays" from Serenity Island (Hypnote Records) 1:06:03
  • Jan Garbarek "Footprints" from Paths, Prints (ECM) 1:12:41
  • Keith Jarrett "New Dance" from Nude Ants (ECM) 1:23:02
  • Terje Rypdal "The Dain Curse" from Waves (ECM) 1:36:17
  • Trrmà "Shishapangm" from The Earth's Relief (577 Records) 1:45:38
  • Farnell Newton "Little Red Rose" from Rippin' and Runnin' (Posi-tone) 1:47:59
  • Nuphar Fey "Long Road to Serenity Island" from Serenity Island (Hypnote Records) 1:53:10

Next >



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.