Udo Pannekeet: Electric Regions

Glenn Astarita By

Sign in to view read count
Udo Pannekeet: Electric Regions
Udo Pannekeet is the current bassist for the legendary Dutch progressive rock band Focus, featuring original members Thijs van Leer (flute, vocals, keyboards) and Pierre van der Linden (drums). On this album the bassist goes for the gusto, supported by an extensive lineup, where jazz rock, fusion and modern jazz concepts co-align, most noticeably on the opening and adrenaline-charged long-form composition "Electric Regions Part One," which is basically the album's tour de force.

Drummer Marcel Serierse kicks off "Electric Regions Part One" with a snappy beat, accented by his ringing snare drum and underscored by the leader's melodic, yet impacting lines. With ascending horn choruses, whispery flute lines and simmering developments, the ensemble builds upon layers amid a soaring swing vamp and alternating themes, complete with Pannekeet's mystical voice overlays. They also cast semblances of a dark, faraway place, complemented by one of the five listed guitarist's shady volume control effects and the soloists' sonorous phrasings. It's akin to a multipart suite as Pannekeet's vision also includes Afro-Cuban pulses, rowdy blues rock motifs, synth-laden melodies and up-tempo percussion grooves. Essentially, the musicians sustain a high-level of interest via this busy but productive oeuvre that steamrolls ahead with capricious flows and an anthem-like closeout.

The second track "Integration Yes" boasts a Weather Report type groove, complete with Nils van Halften's emotive soprano sax phrasings and the bassist's undulating Jaco Pastorious style underpinnings. During the final two works, fiery guitar licks, rolling synth bass parts and turbulent cadences continue, affording several soloists to stretch out. Moreover, the audiophile recording quality abets this largely mesmeric presentation that illustrates the bassist's insightful compositional tendencies and other positive characteristics.

Track Listing

Electric Regions Part 1; Integration Yes; Little Nura; The Antibes Situation; Cocon Cocon.


Udo Pannekeet: bass; Marcel Serierse: drums; Rein Godefroy: piano; Jelle Roozenburg: guitar; Eef Albers: guitar; Martijn van Iterson: guitar; Menno Gootjes: guitar; Tim Langedijk: guitar; Jos de Haas : percussion; Jan van Duikeren : trumpet; Ilja Reijngoud: trombone; Nils van Haften: saxophone; Tom Beek: saxophone, tenor; Remko de Landmeter: flute.

Udo Pannekeet: synth-bass, synths, vocals, drum programming.

Album information

Title: Electric Regions | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: In and out of Focus Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Read Cranbrook Christmas Jazz
Cranbrook Christmas Jazz
Rodney Whitaker with the Christ Church Cranbrook Choir
Read The New Orleans Collection: For All We Know
The New Orleans Collection: For All We Know
Ellis Marsalis with Jason Marsalis
Read Echoes Of Africa
Echoes Of Africa
The Invisible Session

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.