Matthew Whitaker: Connections


Sign in to view read count
Matthew Whitaker: Connections
Multi-instrumentalist Matthew Whitaker opens up and shares some personal moments on Connections. The journey begins with the light, suave "Journey Uptown." The tune grabs attention right away with an energetic upbeat feel which takes one on a magical journey of percussion and piano.

"Bye-Ya" features Jon Batiste on piano. Written by Thelonious Monk, Batiste and Whitaker display their talents on piano and other keyboards. The sound is theatrical and has an Art Tatumish feel. "Stop Fighting" has a soft opening that blossoms with a new beginning of sorts, coming together for a better day. The beautiful sounds of flute and piano beckon as Whitaker touches on a moment of joy as one piano key penetrates and takes over. The synthesizer seems to plead for peace. "Lately" is a classic song by Stevie Wonder, recorded by him in 1980. This rendition has a dramatic tone and a jazzy twist.

Whitaker's "Connections" has a soft, percussive vibe, and delivers a plea from Whitaker for us all to connect with each other in peace. The jazz standard "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," composed by Duke Ellington, features the sophisticated, swinging violin of Regina Carter. "Jeannine" is a piece of Latin fusion that suggests intrigue and mystery, mixing soft yet energetic percussion, elegant piano, and high-pitched of trumpet. "I'm Sorry" has a laid-back soul-jazz groove including a Hammond organ adding authenticity. On "Blue Rondo a la Turk," Whitaker narrates and takes us on a journey to the day of his birth. He has connected beautifully with this album.

Track Listing

Journey Uptown; A New Day; Bye-Ya; Spain; Connections; Stop Fighting; Lately; I’m Sorry; Jeannine Don’t Get Around Much Anymore; Blue Rondo a la Turk; Trust Me, It Will Be Okay; Garden Wall; Acceptance; His Eye Is On The Sparrow.


Matthew Whitaker: multi-instrumentalist; Karim Hutton: bass; Marcos Robinson: guitar; Isaiah Johnson: drums; Otis Brown III: drums; Johnathan Blake: drums.

Album information

Title: Connections | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Resilience Music

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Live at the Green Mill
Matt Ulery's Delicate Charms
Eternal Aporia
Ben Thomas (US)
Late Night
Sean Fyfe
Cajun Blue
Juliet Varnedoe
2 Blues For Cecil
Andrew Cyrille, William Parker & Enrico Rava
Late Night
Sean Fyfe Quartet
Soul In Plain Sight
Angelika Niescier


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.