A Northern Code: Boundaries

Mark Sullivan By

Sign in to view read count
A Northern Code: Boundaries
A Northern Code is a collaboration between Norwegian guitarist Mathias Marstrander, Scottish double bassist Andrew Robb and Norwegian drummer Sigurd Steinkpf. The group balances improvisation with composition; one hallmark is the use of conceptual goals to help shape the improvisations. This is demonstrated right off the bat with opener "Slow Motion," which ably delivers on its premise with a slow-moving mass of sound. "Every Cell Of Your Body" is a bit harder to parse, but it casts a spell through waves of intense playing.

Robb contributed two compositions. "Beslan" is a lovely ballad, which clearly differentiates itself from the preceding improvisation. On the other hand, the bass and guitar solos on "Existential Future" serve as an introduction to "Red Street." It is difficult to even hear a transition at first, but the form soon becomes audible. Marstrander wrote "Bifilomania," although the double bass introduces it unaccompanied before being joined by the rest of the band for a rubato harmonic exploration, with a theme finally stated at the end.

The standard "Someday My Prince Will Come" is approached carefully, with guitar and bass outlining some of the changes before finally introducing the melody. The rubato treatment places it in the flow of the original music, as if the tune was something they recalled collectively while improvising together. It is followed by the concluding improvisation "Soundscape," which ends the album on an atmospheric note (not without a big climax in the middle).

These three musicians are clearly on the same page, with a sound which emphasizes the collective over individual solos. They would fit right in with ECM artists such as the Norwegian guitarist Eivind Aarset or Danish guitarist Jakob Bro.

Track Listing

Slow Motion; Beslan; Bifilomania; Every Cell Of Your Body; Existential Future; Red Street; Meditative; Someday My Prince Will Come; Soundscape.


A Northern Code: band/orchestra; Mathias Marstrander: guitar; Sigurd Steinkpf: drums; Andrew Robb: bass.

Album information

Title: Boundaries | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Ora Fonogram

Post a comment about this album




Shop Amazon


Suomi Morishita
The Elements
Madre Vaca
Winter Garden
Flow Trio with Joe McPhee
Keisuke Kishi
Old Souls
The KUH Trio
Other Worlds
Joe Lovano & Dave Douglas Soundprints


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.