Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Black Art Jazz Collective: Ascension


Black Art Jazz Collective: Ascension


Sign in to view read count
Black Art Jazz Collective: Ascension
The name has obvious political resonance. Indeed, the raison d'être of the Black Art Jazz Collective, the sextet founded by Wayne Escoffery, Jeremy Pelt and Jonathon Blake in 2013, is to celebrate African American excellence on the one hand, and—not unrelated—to raise political consciousness on the other. The BAJC's debut album,Presented By The Side Door Jazz Club (Sunnyside Records, 2016) paid homage to W. E. B. Dubois and Barack Obama, while recalling, too, the history of slavery. Ascension plows a similar furrow, both musically and thematically, with the long shadow of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers ever present.

As is the nature of collectives, the BAJC's personnel has changed since its inception, with drummer Mark Whitfield, Jr. replacing Blake, Rashaan Carter replacing Vicente Archer on bass, and Victor Gould taking over the piano stool of Xavier Davis. Up front, trombonist James Burton III forms a powerful trident with Escoffery and Pelt, and their harmonic and melodic lines forge sophisticated and uplifting intros and outros to the sextet's hard-bop format.

In between, the music follows a broadly unchanging pattern of solo relays, with no sparring or cut-and-thrust to enliven the tableau. Even Burton's "Tulsa," inspired by the horrifying Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921, when as many as 300 black people were murdered by a rampaging white mob, follows the prevailing pattern, where instead some cacophony or dissonance might have served the spirit of the tune better. Ditto Escoffery's "Involuntary Servitude," which is neither blues lament nor particularly impassioned protest—despite Whitfield Jr.'s efforts—against the unfulfilled promises of the American Constitution.

And this is where Ascension, rather than soar, tends to plateau rather predictably. Although four of the sextet members share composing duties, the hard-bop blueprint of head-solo-solo-head reduces much of the music to a homogenous collective formula. The one occasion when the horns do threaten to unleash some serious jousting is in the fade-out to "Iron Man," while Pelt's impressionistic, miniature ballad "No Words Needed" and the smooth neo-soul of "For the Kids"—featuring Gould on electric piano—are the only pieces to veer significantly from the hard-bop mould.

Within these stylistic limitations, however, there is some excellent playing, as you might reasonably expect from such top-notch musicians, with the bustling Whitfield Jr. in particular, impressive throughout. Recommended for straight-ahead aficionados.

Track Listing

Ascension; Mr. Willis; Involuntary Servitude; Twin Towers; No Words Needed; Tulsa; Iron Man; For the Kids; Birdie’s Bounce.


Jeremy Pelt
Wayne Escoffery
saxophone, tenor
James Burton
Rashaan Carter
bass, acoustic

Album information

Title: Ascension | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: HighNote Records

< Previous
What's The Hurry



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


September Night
Tomasz Stańko
A Different Light
Carl Clements
Cubop Lives!
Zaccai Curtis
Beautiful Moons Ago
The Gabrielle Stravelli Trio


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.