Kobe Van Cauwenberghe: Anthony Braxton Ghost Trance Solos

Mark Corroto By

Sign in to view read count
Anthony Braxton's Ghost Trance Music (GTM) has been explained as his interpretation of Native American ritualistic circle or ghost dances, the means by which a people connected to their ancestors. The music appears to be unbounded, and it exists before the musicians take the stage and continues long after the performance has concluded. If we carry that concept into the 21st century, the music could have, maybe should have been, the score to The Matrix science fiction film series. Imagine all those green numbers, computer code, flowing in endless patterns invisible to the uninitiated.

Belgian guitarist Kobe Van Cauwenberghe steps inside that matrix with his performance of three Braxton compositions with his Ghost Trance Solos by layering loops and electronics over his guitar in real time. The effect is astonishing and as hypnotic as an ensemble performance. The three performances track the development of Braxton's GTM concept, as if Van Cauwenberghe were venturing deeper into the matrix, peeling away code to reveal the raw specter of the sound. "Composition No. 255" tracks that perpetual motion machine first with a single guitar line, then a looped guitar and electronics. He adds sung/spoken numbers and vowel sounds combinations that would not be out of place in an Alessandro Bosetti performance. Even when the pulse fades and soloing begins, that flowing matrix of energy persists. That unstated trance dance is peeled back even further with "Composition No. 284," and "Composition No. 358," where the guitarist adds dialogue from a park ranger's description of an imaginary trip. There is no requirement that the listener choose between the two pills; Van Cauwenberghe has chosen the red pill for us.

Track Listing

Composition No. 255; Composition No. 284; Composition No. 358.


Kobe Van Cauwenberghe: guitars, loops, electronics.

Album information

Title: Anthony Braxton Ghost Trance Solos | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: All That Dust

Post a comment about this album



Read Garden of Expression
Garden of Expression
Joe Lovano, Marilyn Crispell, Carmen Castaldi
Read Rain Painting
Rain Painting
John Stowell & Dan Dean
Read Beyond
Futari (Satoko Fujii / Taiko Saito)
Read New Sounds
New Sounds
New Faces
Read Backwards Compatible
Backwards Compatible
The 8-Bit Big Band
Read Rain Painting
Rain Painting
John Stowell / Dan Dean

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.