Home » Musicians » Discography » Uncompromised


Uncompromised by Michel Berthiaume
buy album

Michel Berthiaume

Label: independent
Released: 2019
Views: 570


Additional Personnel / Information

Michel Berthiaume-drums compositions Gentiane MG-piano Levi Dover- Double bass Evan Shay-Alto sax

Album Description

The Michel Berthiaume quartet will feature a new set of original compositions that we recently recorded on an album titled Uncompromised. The concept was to write some music I can enjoy from an honest place without any compromise. It is the result of experiments with dissonance randomness and deceptive rhythms to create a new vocabulary and sound for the quartet. The result is a collection of compositions that allow us to express some strong emotions I wanted an outlet for. The music reflects my eclectic tastes. It includes many different contexts I wanted to explore with the band. Namely swing, free improv, dissonance, and heavy metal. Therefore, the music is not confined to any particular genre but still has an identifiable sound and unity.


Album uploaded by Michel Berthiaume

Post a comment about this album

Album Reviews

The Montreux Years
John McLaughlin
Long Way Home
Dimitris Angelakis
Potsa Lotsa XL & Youjin Sung
Anthony Coleman and Brian Chase

Song of the Day

Black Orpheus
The New Acoustic Collective
Sudden Discovery
Pavel Skornyakov
John Paul Jones
Keith Oxman

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.