Rest/Unrest by Nick Rousseau
buy album

Nick Rousseau

Label: N/A
Released: 2021
Duration: 39
Views: 97

Track Listing

Rest/Unrest; Lucid Awakening; Let Their Voices Sing; Deassurance; Soul Harvest; Reconstruction; Fall/Rebuild; Solemn


Sean Hannon
bass, acoustic
Anton Kot

Additional Personnel / Information

Nick Rousseau - Guitar Carlin Lee - Piano Sean Hannon - Electric Bass Anton Kot - Drums All compositions by Nick Rousseau Rest/Unrest (track) features Alex Sipiagin on Trumpet Recorded by Julian Cornell (Tracks 2-3, 6-8) and Parichat Songmuang (Tracks 1, 4-5) Mixed by Nick Rousseau (Terranaut Recordings) Mastered by Grant Meyer (Short Stack NYC) Album Art by John Arenas

Album Description

Rest/Unrest tells a story of the turbulent time we all went through in the year 2020, but with themes that seem to be universal. The song “Rest/Unrest” lives in the space where protests, the idea of “the other,” and general disagreements inhabit. The intention behind the song is to illustrate the cyclical nature of life, and hopefully provide the comfort of knowing that all unrest must eventually come to a rest, while also acknowledging the anxiety that the opposite must eventually happen. “Lucid Awakening” is a musical portrayal of what it might feel like to drift through everyday 21st century life. “Let Their Voices Sing” is a call for togetherness, listening (with intent), and compassion for our fellow human beings. “Deassurance” deals with the uncertainty in life, and my musical personification of my overthinking and anxious mind. “Soul Harvest” aims to make the listener feel as if they're holding on by a thread (which can be heard from the ostinato guitar line). “Reconstruction” and “Fall/Rebuild” are the two pieces of music that may be most relevant to life in 2020/2021, despite being written years apart (Reconstruction was written in mid 2017, “Fall/Rebuild” was written late 2020). “Solemn” is my sincere thank you letter for lending your ear to the music I make. This album is my first effort as a leader and was made independently without a record label. Some tunes were written years ago (Deassurance and Reconstruction were written in 2017 in Miami, my hometown) some as recent as a year ago (Rest/Unrest, Fall/Rebuild, Let Their Voices Sing, and Solemn were written in 2020 in New York City), and some in between (Soul Harvest and Lucid Awakening were both written sometime between 2018 and 2019, in Boston). My hope for selecting these tunes that were from different times and places was to create a collection of musical pieces that encompass my life as a musician and human being, trying not to make a “killing record” or fit into a genre mold but make music that’s representative of me as a whole. I sincerely hope you enjoy it. Thanks to everyone involved with this project and my life for helping me bring this alive. credits


Album uploaded by Nicholas Rousseau


Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

Stephan Crump
This Land
Theo Bleckmann & The Westerlies
Trust Me
Gerry Eastman Trio
Matthew Stevens
Borderlands Trio: Stephan Crump / Kris Davis /...
Kinds of Love
Renee Rosnes

Song of the Day

Radio Ocean
Gabriel Judet-Weinshel
Adrianne Duncan
Church Song
Michael Dalgas

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.