Facing the Mirror

Dave Rivello

Label: Self Produced
Released: 2009
Views: 604


One by One by One; Of Time and Time Past; Stealing Space; Dancing in Circles; Sometime; Beyond the Fall; The Path of Innocence; Chorale.


Dave Rivello
composer / conductor
Matt Pivec
Dean Keller
clarinet, bass
Ted Poor
Phil Ostrander
Brian Shaw
Mike Kaupa
Eli Asher

Album Description

Dave Rivello debuts his large ensemble with this recording, an impressive beginning by the young composer/arranger/conductor. The opening track, "One by One by One," is an intricate miniature suite, with segues between sections to set up soloists Eli Asher on trumpet and pianist Red Wierenga. The infectious "Dancing in Circles" begins with a circular vamp by the rhythm section around which the reeds and brass weave their rich textures. Rivello's elegant scoring of brass and reeds in the brief finale, "Chorale," is the perfect ending to this rewarding CD.

Album Review(s)

Post a comment about this album


Album Discography

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.