Home » Musicians » Discography » Bridges



Bridges by Jesse Ryan
buy album

Jesse Ryan

Label: FWE
Released: 2020
Views: 416

Track Listing

Big Ole' Shoes (Featuring Mt. Cullane Tambrin Band) 06:46 2. Bridges 06:37 3. Zambian Offertory (Featuring Joanna Majoko) 04:06 4. Right To Be Wrong Prelude (Featuring Brainerd Blyden-Taylor) 00:51 5. Right To Be Wrong (Featuring Mt. Cullane Tambrin Band) 05:31 6. The Way (Featuring Joanna Majoko) 05:21 7. Seeds 04:42 8. S.O.T.S Prelude (Featuring Ewen Farncombe and Mt. Cullane Tambrin Band) 00:44 9. S.O.T.S (Featuring Mt. Cullane Tambrin Band) 04:07


Additional Personnel / Information

Mt. Cullane Tambrin Band (tracks 1, 5, 9, 10).

Album Description

The debut recording of saxophonist and composer Jesse Ryan entitled Bridges, is an eclectic and honest offering that straddles both jazz and Afro-Caribbean traditions - A true celebration of the cultural, rhythmic and expressive connections between North America and the islands of the Caribbean. His Bridges project was formed in 2016 to explore his passion for composing, performing, and recording music that celebrated his Trinbagonian heritage and love for the jazz tradition. The album features nine tracks that are either an idiomatic bridge between musical traditions or was written to present an idea in the form of an anecdotal narrative that encourages the listener to evolve by bridging the gap between their former and future selves. Three of the tracks on the album feature Tambrin drumming, performed by members of the Mt. Cullane Tambrin Band - a drumming tradition from Jesse’s homeland that is unique to the island of Tobago and has remained largely unchanged from when it began in colonial times. A Tambrin band normally includes five musicians playing three frame drums (three shallow goatskin drums, one triangle and one violin or harmonica. The first of the three is the opening track of the album, Big Ole Shoes, a medium-tempo Jig. The second, Right To Be Wrong, a slow, ballad-like rhythm referred to as the Brush Back, and the third, Sons Of The Soil, (S.O.T.S) an up-tempo Reel. In keeping with the goal of bridging cultures, this project brings together some of the finest young musicians from Toronto, Canada and Trinidad and Tobago and was co-produce by the Grammy Award winning drummer, musician Larnell Lewis.


Album uploaded by Michael Ricci

Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

The Larry Douglas Alltet
Soul In Plain Sight
Angelika Niescier & Alexander Hawkins
What You Seek Is Seeking You
Nick Mazzarella / Ingebrigt Håker Flaten /...
All In
The Shuffle Demons
The 1959 Sessions
Stan Tracey Trio
Live 2020-2021
Bévort 3

Song of the Day

Thomas Heflin
There Are Thorns
Eugenie Jones
The Nearness of You
Giacomo Gates
Ad Perpetuam
Ricardo Pinheiro

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.