Home » Jazz Articles » Kenner: 8Ball City


Album Review

Kenner: 8Ball City


Sign in to view read count
Kenner: 8Ball City
Although the promotional material indicates that keyboardist/producer/composer Eitan Kenner was experiencing personal turmoil during the creation of 8Ball City, the music is upbeat, almost giddy. Helium powered synths spin out surging melodies against compound rhythms and chord progressions climb ever heavenward. Call it "happy prog," complex, cheerful music that nods to Frank Zappa without getting clenched or sarcastic, apes Yes just a bit but never gets ponderous (and eschews vocals).

"Toy Soldiers" is the most complex and developed piece on offer. The insistent rhythms and stair-step hook of its main theme almost impel the listener to do calisthenics, but the piece ends on a quiet note and the song as a whole travels more emotional ground than the other pieces on offer. Some tracks here are more sketches than fully fledged songs: "Life (Small)," "Press Start to Play," "Behind the Trees," "Play / Sad Mario," and "Weasel Pond" all clock in well under two minutes, with "Press Start" and "Weasel" under a minute. These bite-sized episodes aren't tossed off, however: you can imagine their ideas developing much further if Kenner chooses to expand them in the future.

Kenner lists his influences as including classical, progressive rock, jazz, and R&B (the least evident strand in the mix, though the mellow "Janelle" may be a nod to futurist R&B singer Janelle Monae). References to pressing "play" and Mario indicate an interest in video games as well, though the album's roots are more proggy 1970s than chip-tune 1980s. Whatever the ingredients, the resulting cocktail is effervescent enough to overcome a sense that many of the musical gestures are familiar from the bell-bottom decade.

The relatively short performances keep 8Ball City light on its feet, all the more impressive as Kenner relates obsessing over the content of each track to the point it threatened his mental health. You're likely to be happier after listening to 8Ball City than you were before.

Track Listing

8Ball City; Janelle; Life (Small); Candyland; Press Start to Play; Toy Soldiers; Behind the Trees; Skrunk; Play / Sad Mario; Weasel Pond; Life (Big); Done.


Eitan Kenner: keyboards, compositions; David Frazier, Jr., Noam Israeli, Diego Joaqu: drums; Tamir Shmerling: bass; Andrew Whitbeck and Nitzan Bar: guitars; Clay Lyons, Jonathan Greenstein: saxophones; Wayne Tucker: trumpet; Jamey Haddad: percussion; Tamer Pinarbasi: qunun.

Album information

Title: 8Ball City | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Rachel Eckroth
Nine Rivers
John Blum
Jonathan Karrant


Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio
Pharoah (Box Set)
Pharoah Sanders
Afro Futuristic Dreams
Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids
Dynamic Maximum Tension
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society

On the record

Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Jonathan Karrant
Brazilian Match
Luiz Millan
Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.