Phronesis: We Are All

Roger Farbey By

Sign in to view read count
Phronesis: We Are All
The incendiary playing on the opener "One For Us" augurs well for the rest of this, the eighth album by Phronesis. Their previous CD, The Behemoth was released in 2017 to widespread critical acclaim. It seems incredible that Jasper Høiby's brainchild has racked up so many consistently excellent recordings to date.

Ivo Neame's "Matrix For D.A." opens with elliptical piano-phrases vying with equally curt percussion, but the duet is rapidly joined by pizzicato bass to balance the piece. Høiby's poignantly lugubrious arco bass introduces Anton Eger's elegiac "The Edge," but gives way to fleet-footed pizzicato lines as the trio gradually builds the tension. Neame initially takes a more languid chordal approach but ups the ante with more florid single note runs as the whole number builds to a crescendo.

As a centrepiece, the rapid cascade of notes in the midst of Neame's second composition, "Emerald Horseshoe," is jaw-droppingly impressive, the tension, almost imperceptibly mounting towards its climactic release. Høiby's pastoral "Breathless" is a vehicle for the bassist's bravura performance evincing a deeply resonant pizzicato tone others would kill for. "The Tree Did Not Die," Eger's second composition, involves Neame's employment of, alternately, keyboard organ-tone and piano that results in a composition noticeably contrasting with the preceding five tracks, and which utilises both pulsating rhythms and swirling harmonies in a mesmerising melange of sound.

Make no mistake, Phronesis don't play facile music, indeed their output typically demands a greater degree of concentration on the part of the listener than much contemporary jazz, but the concomitant payoff is considerable. These are compositions upon which to reflect, which is appropriate really considering one definition of the ancient Greek word phronesis is actually mindfulness.

Track Listing

One for Us; Matrix for D.A.; The Edge; Emerald Horseshoe; Breathless; The Tree Did Not Die.


Jasper Høiby: double bass; Ivo Neame: piano; Anton Eger: drums.

Album information

Title: We Are All | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Edition Records

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


A Conversation
Tim Hagans-NDR Big Band
Die Unwucht
Christopher Kunz & Florian Fischer
In Space
The Luvmenauts
Afrika Love
Alchemy Sound Project
Sunday At De Ruimte
Marta Warelis / Frank Rosaly / Aaron Lumley /...
Westward Bound!
Harold Land


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.