Home » Jazz Articles » Ola Onabule: Point Less


Album Review

Ola Onabule: Point Less


Sign in to view read count
Ola Onabule: Point Less
British-Nigerian singer/songwriter Ola Onabule has a rich baritone voice and a commanding presence. He's a soul singer above all, but also draws on pop, world music and jazz. Despite its title, opener "Throwaway Notion" is a catchy tune with a Pan-African groove, and very dark lyrics about the current race to the bottom in politics all around the world. Guitarist John Parricelli contributes memorable lead and solo guitar. "The Old Story" has a slinky Latin feel. But "Exit Wound" uses a recurring samba rhythm (voice and instruments) to great effect, producing one of the most memorable tracks. The words challenge "hackneyed 'silver lining' songs," with a chorus that begins "don't send me all your thoughts and prayers."

"What The Heck" goes into soul/funk territory, recalling some of Stevie Wonder's music. "Suru Lere" (named for a place that returnee African-Americans settled in Lagos) is a bossa nova, with fine saxophone obligato and solo from Duncan Eagles. It calls for making a stand where you live, rather than hoping for a return to a mythical place. "So They Say" is marked by an especially soaring vocal melody, as well as guitarist John Parricelli's contribution. Inspired by Rudyard Kipling's poem "We and They," it begins "So they say, is a thing they say, when they say things they should not say." Harmonica player Berthold Matschat makes a great addition to the group sound on the final two tracks. Closer "You Can't Depend On Love" also shows off the singer's scat singing skills.

Onabulé is the whole package: a powerful, expressive singer and a striking songwriter, with incisive things to say about contemporary society. But always in a poetic way: he is no mere polemicist. His stylistic influences are broad—African, Latin, jazz, funk, soul and pop—and they combine in a completely natural fusion. There is considerable rhythmic variety in these tunes, ably handled by the entire cast of supporting musicians.

Track Listing

Throwaway Notion; The Old Story; Point Less; And Yet; Exit Wound; What The Heck; Ballad Of The Star Crossed; I Knew Your Father; Suru Lere; Tender Heart; Conceive It; So They Say; Pas Famille; You Can't Depend On Love.


Ola Onabule

Ola Onabulé: vocals; John Parricelli: guitar; Guillermo Hill: guitar; Al Cherry: guitar; Femi Temowo: guitar; John Crawford: piano; Ross Stanley: piano; Pete Adams: piano; Jack Pollitt: drums; Chris Nickolls: drums; Phil Mulford: bass; Will Fry: percussion; Duncan Eagles: saxophone; Berthold Matschat: harmonica; George Hazelrigg: Hammond organ.

Album information

Title: Point Less | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Rugged Ram Records

Post a comment

For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Plastic Bamboo
A Lovesome Thing
Geri Allen & Kurt Rosenwinkel
Seulah Noh Jazz Orchestra


On the record

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.