Home » Musicians » Stefan Wistrand

Stefan Wistrand

Stefan Wistrand got hooked on jazz in the early 70s and at the same time took up playing the saxophone. At first involved in the then-current jazz rock scene, he soon encountered free jazz through the duo he formed in the mid 70s with drummer Peter Olsen. In 1978 they released the album “Duo” on composer Leo Nilsson’s label Studio Viarp. Throughout the 80s Wistrand was active on the alternative rock scene, touring Sweden and Scandinavia and recording three albums with rock group Memento Mori.

In the 90s he returned to jazz and improvisational music and was initially mainly active as leader of free jazz group Nods Off, with Olsen, bassist Stefan Larsson and guitarist Daniel Berton. Nods Off has released five CDs on Einnicken Records. Other jazz musicians who have been members of Nods Off are drummer Erik Dahlbäck, bassist Tommy Skotte, trumpeters Tommy Adolfsson and Emil Strandberg.

In 1999, together with musician Per Åhlund, Wistrand formed the musician collective and scene Memento in Eskilstuna. A coalition of creative musicians in the genres of electronica, jazz, rock and improvisation.

Wistrand started several projects with young musicians around the turn of the century 99-00, as for example jazz group Blue Room Repository Ensemble, “big band” Memento Creative Orchestra, free improvising units Fundamental Form and Two Sounds Ensemble.The latter, a duo with pianist Joakim Simonsson, has released two albums “Inversions” (2004) and “Fictions” (2009)

Read more


Nods Off “Intro: Version” (Einnicken, 2021)
”The album convinces me anyway that they must have been one of the 90's more exciting Swedish jazz groups. The music still feels wonderfully free and raw and much more modern and urgent than much of what is produced today. It is cheeky and does not fear the caesars of music who prefer smooth-combed people who sleep well at night.”
Kulturdelen (Sweden)

The Electric MZ “Eternity & A Day” (Einnicken, 2018)
”Together, everyone contributes to creating a genuine group sound, which despite the actual timelessness of the music and its 'here and now' still feels a lot of Swedish 70's, but then of the absolute best kind

Read more



Intro: Version

Einnicken Records


Eternity & A Day

Einnicken Records


Going (Gone)

Einnicken Records


Silent in the Murmur

Einnicken Records


Fundamental Form

Einnicken Records



Found You Recordings



Shop Amazon

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.