Home » Music » Song of the Day


The Guardians by Kansas City Area Youth Jazz

From the album

"The Guardians" by

Buy Album

Album Title: 2023 Fellows
Label: ARC - Artists Recording Collective
Released: 2024
Duration: 00:55:10


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

The “2023 FELLOWS” (ARC-3459) album introduces our new Brady vocal jazz ensemble along with two branded Crain and Watson instrumental ensembles in a diverse program of progressive treatments of works by Ellington, Parker, Mossman, James Williams, Hank Mobley and Ellen Rowe. 2023 found Youth Jazz Fellows performing in the community again to audiences that might not otherwise hear live top shelf jazz and also presenting a “Next Generation” showcase concert in July at Crown Center. The album’s challenging program is a great example of the level of musical engagement, growth, and commitment by the students during rehearsals and business clinics this season. Visiting clinicians included the great Bobby Watson. With the release of “2023” the Kansas City Area Youth Jazz program has concluded its FIFTH SEASON! And there are numerous alumni fellows now performing professionally on the Kansas City jazz scene with their own bands and as side musicians with some of the top artists in town. The next generation is thriving in this music.


Changing of the Guard; Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me; In My Solitude; Infra-Rae; Marmaduke; The Perpetrator; Take the A Train; The Guardians; Yardbird Suite; Red Cross.


Kansas City Area Youth Jazz
band / ensemble / orchestra

Additional Personnel

Lizzie Salin: voice; Emma-Kate Salin: voice; Levi Parker: voice; Kris Durant: voice; KeKe Rhodes: voice; Alyssa Williams: voice; D’Koda Perry: voice; Star Minter: voice; Kareem Doolin: voice; Owen Aho: voice; Maurice Butler: drums; Houston Smith: alto saxophone; Greg Carroll: piano; Miles Clemons: piano; Truman Mathena: bass; Quinn Spear : drums; Javier Cruz: drums; Logan Smoot: trumpet, flugelhorn; Luke Inman: trumpet, flugelhorn; Dylan Reed: alto saxophone; Josiah Assefa: tenor saxophone, clarinet: Will Kimlinger: baritone saxophone; Michael Suriano: guitar; Isaac Pieters: bass; Blue Noyes: drums; Levi Birks: drums; Jacob Fry: vocalist; Nic Weaver: trumpet, flugelhorn; Dallas Hall: trumpet, flugelhorn; Henry Scamurra: alto saxophone; Jackson Harrison: tenor saxophone; Aidan Hamer: trombone.

Date featured

January 14, 2024

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Song of the Day

Panda Beach Samba
Joshua King
Nimbus Sextet
Mazwati Tea
Darren Pickering
West 4th St
Hyeonseon Baek


Abdallah Harati
David Friesen
Josh Sinton
A Plea For Help
Kansas City Area Youth Jazz
La Boca
Milton Arias
Soul Glide
Tony Adamo

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.