All About Jazz

Home » Music » Song of the Day


Sleepless in Paris by Moy Eng

From the album

Album Title: The Blue Hour
Label: Patois Records
Released: 2019


Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

Believable spoken words blanketed in an appropriately cosy musical tog, music with the comfort of dreams.

About the Album

"Sleepless in Paris" is the second track from Chinese-American poet-vocalist Moy Eng’s striking debut album, "The Blue Hour.” An intoxicating blend of autobiography and imagination in collaboration, Eng created the album with four-time GRAMMY-nominated trombonist/composer/arranger Wayne Wallace, who served as Eng’s songwriting partner and producer. The result is a mature collection of new songs showcasing arresting lyrics and wide range of musical styles. Her lyrics are a blend of autobiography and her expansive imagination, and they range across the emotional landscape while the writing retains the wide-eyed delight of a gifted sensualist. Traversing themes related to love, loss, travel, and identity, Eng presents these songs as a colorful basket of individual gifts, each wrapped in a gently sumptuous and frankly beautiful alto – a silky but unruffled singing voice as warmly clear as the poetic “voice” that infuses her writing. To complement her words, Wallace’s compositions – and especially his spot-on arrangements which draw on his eclectic musical experiences in pop, rock, jazz, and Latin music – enhance each of Eng’s lyrics, underscoring emotions both spoken and implied.

Song Listing

Filthy Gorgeous, Sleepless in Paris, You Put A Spell on Him, I Love A Girl Who Parties, Hong Kong, Wild Plum, Magnolia Light, Alpha Girl, A New York Moment, Thursdays in May


Additional Personnel

Moy Eng: vocals; Deszon Claiborne: drums; Colin Douglas: drums; Akira Tana: drums; David Belove: fretless bass, electric; Marc van Wageningen: electric bass; John Wiitala: acoustic bass; Joe Gilman: piano; Murray Low: keyboard; Frank Martin: keyboard, piano, and organ; Michael Spiro: congas and percussion; Rick Vandivier: guitars and dobro; Tommy Kesecker: vibraphone; Erik Jekabson: trumpet; John Worley: trumpet; Mary Fettig: alto saxophone; Melecio Magdaluyo: alto, tenor, and bari saxophone; Wayne Wallace: trombone; Eugene Chuklov: first violin; Niki Fukada: second violin; Edith Szendrey: viola; Monica Scott: cello; Yuki Nagase: double bass.

Date featured

September 30, 2019

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Song of the Day

Adrianne Duncan
Church Song
Michael Dalgas
Walking alive
Fabrice Sotton


Un Poco Loco
Dave Bass
Yi Yunseon
A Lisbon Song
Max Agnas
Scarlet Lullaby
Alex Jenkins
For What It's Worth
Cathy Segal-Garcia
Church Song
Michael Dalgas
Fall Dog Bombs the Moon
Charles Rumback

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.