Home » Music » Song of the Day


Rough Sketch by Julian Hartwell

From the album

Album Title: Rough Sketch (feat. V. Shayne Frederick)
Label: Self Produced
Released: 2020


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

The first single from LYVELIFE, the next album by The Julian Hartwell Project, featuring special guest vocalist V. Shayne Frederick. Available on all digital music platforms as of June 19, 2020. This song is about the messiness, unpredictability, and "work-in-progress" nature of life. It's been an instrumental tune in The JHP's live repertoire for years, but I finally penned lyrics for it and reshaped the arrangement in collaboration with guest vocalist V. Shayne Frederick. Ultimately my intention with this tune is to give a bright, upbeat and funky feeling to an inspirational message.

Song Listing

Rough Sketch (single)


Julian Hartwell
V. Shayne Frederick
voice / vocals
Mervin Toussaint
saxophone, alto
Dylan Band
saxophone, tenor
Rodrigo Pichardo
bass, electric

Date featured

September 10, 2020

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Song of the Day

Answer & Arrival
Shawn Maxwell
I Am An Immigrant
Leon Foster Thomas
Back Track
Ally Fiola
Perpetual Motion III
Satoko Fujii


Sound Landscapes
Jazz'on Parma Orchestra
Fusion of Minds
Tobin Mueller
Buster Williams
The End of Innocence
Billy Childs
Eric Reed
Flying Waltz
Rodrigo Lima
Needle's Eye
Klaus Kugel

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.